The Left Hand of Dog

The Left Hand of Dog

by

2021, , science-fiction, science-fiction, ace-spec, book-dragon-reviews, humour, arc, u-rep-lgbtq, booksirens, enby, Science Fiction, LGBT, Fiction, Science Fiction Fantasy

Escaping intergalactic kidnappers has never been quite so ridiculous.

When Lem and her faithful dog, Spock, retreat from the city for a few days of hiking in Algonquin Park, the last thing they expect is to be kidnapped by aliens. No, scratch that. The last thing they expect is to be kidnapped by a bunch of strangely adorable intergalactic bounty hunters aboard a ship called the Teapot.

After Lem falls in with an unlikely group of allies – including a talking horse, a sarcastic robot, an overly anxious giant parrot, and a cloud of sentient glitter gas – the gang must devise a cunning plan to escape their captors and make it back home safely.

But things won’t be as easy as they first seem. Lost in deep space and running out of fuel, this chaotic crew are faced with the daunting task of navigating an alien planet, breaking into a space station, and discovering the real reason they’re all there…

Packed with preposterous scenarios, quirky characters, and oodles of humour, The Left Hand of Dog tackles complex subjects such as gender, the need to belong, and the importance of honest communication. Perfect for fans of Charlie Jane Anders’ Victories Greater than Death – especially ones who enjoy endless references to Red Dwarf, Star Trek, and Doctor Who. This book will show you that the universe is a very strange place indeed.

Title:The Left Hand of Dog
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781916287853
Format Type:

    The Left Hand of Dog Reviews

  • * A Reader Obsessed *

    3.5 StarsWhat would you do if you woke up after being abducted by adorable bunny bounty hunters who have charged your beloved dog with a crime and are bringing her and other accused aliens to be judge...

  • Denver Public Library

    This light hearted space adventure is just plain fun. While many books in this genre ponder gender and the friendship between species, this one feels fresh. Truly - what WOULD aliens think about the r...

  • Sam

    This book is ridiculous in the best ways. When you know you are in for a silly ride and get just that, it’s fun.It’s a bit over the top and some things are a bit too much and weird, I’d say not ...

  • Amanda at Bookish Brews

    I actually adored this book, it's so good! Check out my review HERE! Delightful, challenging, fun, hilarious, weird, silly, light, adventurousLeft Hand of Dog is wonderfully charming and beautifully w...

  • Anna

    This was exactly the book I needed right now. The type I could get completely caught up in. When I say I love Sci-Fi as a genre, this is the kind of Sci-Fi I mean. Why would I read about intergalactic...

  • Chris Durston

    I really like this book.It's one of those books that manages to turn up the silliness to the max and in doing so also manages to make more insightful points about a few important things. It's not able...

  • Sammi

    I can’t even remember how/where I heard about this, but I’m so glad I did!It’s a marvellous little escape into a mysterious world filled with wonderful characters but retaining so much heart, ad...

  • Jim Razinha

    What a fun book! I got an advance review copy from BookSirens because the description sounded like a cross between Hitchhiker's Guide and Star Smashers of the Galaxy Rangers. No offense to Adams or an...

  • John Derek

    Farce, a comic dramatic piece that uses highly improbable situations, stereotyped characters, extravagant exaggeration, and violent horseplay. The term also refers to the class or form of drama made ...

  • Marishka Grayson

    This was a fun read, silly and sweet and great distraction from my usual fare of grimdark. As a science fiction reader since my childhood, I loved all the references to the sci-fi literature of the pa...