Dark Across The Bay

Dark Across The Bay

by

, fictional-crime, horror, horror, 2021, books-i-own, horror, novels-2021, thrillers, 2021, suspense, Horror, Thriller, Suspense, Fiction, Mystery

In the vein of John MacDonald’s Cape Fear, Ahlborn takes the classic stalker tale and updates it for the modern era.

The house sits stoic and slightly askew off the coast of Raven’s Head. Its off-kilter windows are both charming and disorienting, its walls of overstuffed bookshelves both comforting and claustrophobic. When Leo and Lark Parrish arrive at their vacation home with their parents, their mother’s idea of a quintessential Maine getaway seems like both a blessing and a curse. Lark—a novice novelist—can’t wait to find inspiration at the end of a fog-entombed pier. She’ll forgive her mother for forcing her into this non-negotiable holiday, but only if she can find her muse among a lapping, rocky shore. And while being trapped in a house with no means of escape is the last thing Leo would consider a good time—especially with parents on the precipice of divorce—he can’t help but wonder if maybe the change of scenery will help him shake off the chains of sadness brought on by the death of his closest friend.

But what starts off as a relatively benign family trip quickly turns menacing. Leo finds himself face-to-face with what feels like his best friend reaching out from beyond the grave, and only hours after they arrive, Lark begins to receive sinister texts. And then they both see it: someone lurking in the shadows of their rental home. Someone who has been expecting them despite the Parrishes being a thousand miles from home.

Title:Dark Across The Bay
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780996211895
Format Type:

    Dark Across The Bay Reviews

  • Maiden Misty's

    Poppy notices an Air B&B on Facebook that looks perfect for a weekend getaway. It is her last chance to save her marriage and reform a bond with her kids, Lark and Leo. Leo's best friend laid in a com...

  • Peter

    Polly tries to strengthen her family relationship (husband, two children) by booking a remote cabin on an island near Maine (Polly loves Stephen King books). You hear a lot about the well drawn charac...

  • Michelle

    Dark Across the Bay reminds me of Ahlborn's The Shuddering because they both possessed: 1) Outstanding writing2) Plots that kept me reading late into the night3) Exciting and unpredictable villains4) ...

  • Brandon Baker

    Read this in about 3 hours!! Dark Across The Bay is exactly the kind of thriller I’d expect from Ania Ahlborn; bloody, twisty, and dark as hell. My one caveat is that now I’m kinda depressed after...

  • Janelle Janson

    Ania Ahlborn is one of my favorite authors, so I am honored to review her latest creation, DARK ACROSS THE BAY. It’s only available through Earthling Publications as a deluxe hardcover, but it is wo...

  • Chandra Claypool (WhereTheReaderGrows)

    Well hello there my dark thriller/horror loving friends - and to those who are curious. 😈 Come on in, the blood is still warm and gooey and the atmosphere thick with anticipation. The Parrish famil...

  • Kimberly

    DARK ACROSS THE BAY, by Ania Alhborn, is a dark thriller with many horror elements. The pacing was fast--helped along by shorter chapters, each from a different character's POV. The characterization w...

  • Ethan House_of_paperbacks

    2.25 stars. This is hard for me to rate because the writing was good, but the story wasn’t exactly for me For instance the beginning of the book was great, very engaging, and kept me interested. By ...

  • Tara Losacano

    I could not put this book down! It was so suspenseful and mysterious. I loved the secluded setting, a strange house on a small island with a storm on the way. Overall, Dark Across the Bay was a great,...

  • Sadie Hartmann

    Beta read/Review soon....