How High We Go in the Dark

How High We Go in the Dark

by

, edging-into-horror, speculative-fiction, vi-not-for-me, 2021, 2022-releases, non-ya, 2022-releases, read2022, netgalley, sci-fi, sci-fi-fantasy, apocalyptic, 2022-read, fiction, has-aliens-in-it, japan, audiobooks, dystopia, poetry-and-short-stories, Science Fiction, Fiction, Fantasy, Adult, Speculative Fiction, Literary Fiction, Audiobook, Short Stories, Science Fiction Fantasy

For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague—a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice.

Beginning in 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus.

Once unleashed, the Arctic Plague will reshape life on earth for generations to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects—a pig—develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest to locate a new home planet.

From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resiliency of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe.

"Wondrous, and not just in the feats of imagination, which are so numerous it makes me dizzy to recall them, but also in the humanity and tenderness with which Sequoia Nagamatsu helps us navigate this landscape. . . . This is a truly amazing book, one to keep close as we imagine the uncertain future." —Kevin Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Nothing to See Here

Title:How High We Go in the Dark
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780063072640
Format Type:

    How High We Go in the Dark Reviews

  • Roxane

    An ambitious and intricate novel in stories about the ways everything in our world... no, our universe, are intimately connected. At the outset, scientists in Siberia are trying to determine whether n...

  • Alexis Hall

    **Forgot to say, obtained from NG etc.etc.*I have no idea how to even begin talking about this book. It kind of doesn’t help that it opens with a delirious letter from the editor-in-chief of Bloomsb...

  • L.A.

    This is an unbelievably compassionate book and such a talented piece of work that I can't even describe why. It creates such a mental image in your head with all these interconnected events and time p...

  • Henk

    A book filled with wonder on possibilities but for me lacking the execution to go with the daring and ideas of the authorI don’t regret finding love and always thinking of possibilitiesHow High We G...

  • Jenny Lawson

    This is a fucking heavy book. Desolate and sad, but also ambitious and lightly insane. Talking pigs, roller coaster euthanasia machines for children, generational trauma. I suspect this will be a book...

  • Jenna ? ?  ?

    There's a sentence in this book that begins, "In the real world, people comfort themselves with ignorance, politics, and faith". We book lovers would add words and stories to that list... and I, who a...

  • luce

    | | blog | tumblr | letterboxd | |Lacklustre and monotonous, not only did How High We Go in the Dark fail to grip my attention but it also failed to elicit an emotional response on my part. It was a...

  • Gumble's Yard - Golden Reviewer

    “It’s strange how the discovery of an ancient girl in Siberia and viruses we’ve never encountered before can both redefine what we know about being human and at the same time threaten our hum...

  • Marchpane

    How to Die Strangely in a Science Fictional UniverseHow High We Go in the Dark is a science fiction novel-in-stories tracking the effects and aftermath of a fictional pandemic called the Arctic Plague...

  • Samantha Shannon

    As ambitious as it is intimate, How High We Go in the Dark is both a prescient warning and a promise of human resilience in the face of terrible odds. If I had to make a comparison, I'd say it had und...