Cyber Mage

Cyber Mage

by

, 2021, x2021-read, fantasy, best-of-2021, group-wbtm, high-prority, science-fiction, science-fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction Fantasy, Speculative Fiction, Humor

Welcome to Dhaka, Bangladesh in 2089. A city notorious for its extreme population density has found an unexpected way to not just survive a global climate apocalypse, but thrive: pump enough biological nanotech into the neighborhood and all of the bodies together form a self-sustaining, and even temperate, microclimate. Of course, this means that millions of humans have to stay put in order to maintain a livable temperature, and people are getting restless. All of the nanotech has also led to some surprises: certain people no longer need food or water while others can live without functioning organs.

So the mercenary Djibrel has to carry a machete wherever he goes. Only a swift beheading can ensure the job gets done anymore. Djibrel navigates the crowded streets, humans teeming with genetic mutations, looking for answers about what happened to the Djinn, a magical super race of genies who seem to have disappeared, or merged, with humans for survival. What Djibrel doesn't know is that his every move is being tracked by the infamous Cyber Mage—better known to his parents as Murzak, a privileged snarky teenager who regularly works for a Russian crime syndicate with a band of elite hackers, like his best friend ReGi, who resides in North Africa's FEZ (Free Economic Zone). Respected and feared online, Murzak is about to embark on one of his biggest challenges: attending high school IRL. But when he discovers a brand new type of AI, operating on a dark web from the abandoned Kingdom of Bahrain that he thought was just an urban myth, Murzak and Djibrel will have to face the unimaginable in an already inconceivable world.

In this laugh-out-loud-funny and totally original new novel, Saad Z. Hossain continues his signature genre mashup of SF and fantasy, challenging and subverting everything previously imagined about our future and climate change. A scathing critique of corporate greed, Hossain shows us how to think beyond the naïve ideas of preening moguls like Jeff Bezos and Elon Musk.

Title:Cyber Mage
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781951213282
Format Type:

    Cyber Mage Reviews

  • K.J. Charles

    This book took my Omicron reading slump and hurled it into the sun. I recommend it. I adore this author's world of djinn and nanobots, magic and tech and dystopia. This is the link between Djinn City ...

  • Lukasz

    Cyber Mage is hilarious*, fast-paced, and thoroughly entertaining. It mixes sci-fi and fantasy with mythology, bio-engineering, and climate fiction to create a fresh vision of the future. Nations arou...

  • Lata

    Set in the same world as Hossain’s "Djinn City", this book has a similar wild, violent, incredibly detailed, grim, horrible, hilarious feel of the other book. The world building is great, and I love...

  • Ed Erwin

    Set in the same world as The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday, but at an earlier time. A similar mix of fantasy, cyberpunk sci-fi, comedy and action, but with more of a focus on action. I didn't enjoy i...

  • 2TReads

    ..."It's OUR STUPID PLANET, you cretin! It's the only one we've got you blubbering [email protected]%kwit. Do you think if we blow it up, we're just going to skip over to another one?" –MatterasCyber Mage drives h...

  • Kab

    I don't recommend it unless you already found this world immersive. This one is more violent (the action scenes are skimmable). Male is default, women and girls are still introduced by their bodies an...

  • Israa

    Thank you Edelweiss for an advanced copy. This is by far the weirdest book I have ever read. A few times I was lost and tempted to abandon the book, but I’m glad I finished. The author accomplished ...

  • Marlene

    Originally published at Reading RealityI wanted to read this book because I absolutely loved The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday and hoped there would be more like that. Which, as it turns out, there a...

  • Sarmat Chowdhury

    This has become one of my favorite books of all time. Perfect for fans of G. Willow Wilson "Alif: The Unseen" and for those who are fans of literature from the Subcontinent and Desi authors, Saad Hoss...

  • Peter Tillman

    A sort-of prequel to The Gurkha and The Lord of Tuesday, and my GR friend Ernest Lilley says "If you liked Saad Z. Hossain’s science fiction/fantasy mashup novella The Gurkha and The Lord of Tuesday...