Look Mom I’m a Poet (and So Is My Cat)

Look Mom I’m a Poet (and So Is My Cat)

by

, non-fiction, poems, arcs, netgalley, arcs, poetry, humour, netgalley, reviewed, e-arc, 2021, 2021-shelf, netgalley-books, netgalley, arcs, Poetry, Humor

For fans of SNL’S DEEP THOUGHTS BY JACK HANDEY and BILLY COLLINS, a new book of humor from New York Times bestseller Andrew Shaffer.

In his first full-length poetry collection featuring over five dozen new and selected poems, humorist Andrew Shaffer explores our modern world from Fortnite (“I don’t care”) to pretentious Instagram poets (“Lord Byron would have drunk wine from your hipster skull”).

Look Mom I’m a Poet (and So Is My Cat) is playful, hilarious, and accessible to readers who don’t know poetry from a hole in the ground.*

*Holes in the ground are filled with snakes. As every verse jockey worth their meter knows, there are no snakes in poems.

Title:Look Mom I’m a Poet (and So Is My Cat)
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781949769142
Format Type:

    Look Mom I’m a Poet (and So Is My Cat) Reviews

  • Cynthia

    You don’t have to like poetry to enjoy this, but I do think you have to have a very specific type of humor, and I’m not sure how exactly to describe that humor. Let’s see: You must have an appre...

  • Morris

    I really enjoyed this book of poetry. While most of it is good for a laugh, a couple of them really made me think about things, particularly the one about 9/11. It will make a nice gift for someone in...

  • aro

    Easy and fun to read. There were some amazing poems but the rest were pretty mediocre. The good ones really shone through though and were quite funny....

  • lexie

    This book was less about poetry and more about humor. The author was very witty / clever when writing this book and some of the connections he makes are hilarious Like connecting heartbreak to writing...

  • Rob

    LOOK MOM I’M A POET (and so is my cat) (2021)By Andrew ShafferDime House Press, 146 pages.★The best thing about Andrew Shaffer’s chapbook is the cover. Seriously. It’s festooned with a (vaguel...

  • Kgl

    Oh this was so fun! I laughed so much reading these! Serious at times, humorous more often than not, this collection is for fans of Jack Handey for sure. Just such a good time I read right through it ...

  • Bob Lingle

    This book made me infertile. It was either this book or the vasectomy I had around the same time I was reading it. Either way, buyer beware.It's hilarious though, so it's probably worth it....

  • Tony S

    A very odd book but one I thoroughly enjoyed. Very quirky and some themes running through many of the poems. A couple made me smile. ...

  • Cathy

    ARC provided by NetGalley. I enjoyed this! Humorous short poems that switch between serious and funny. A super quick read perfect for national poetry month! The "Sponsored" poems were particularly fun...

  • SoP0etic C

    I'd give this book 5 PLUS stars if I could. I had never heard of the Author before so wasn't already a fan. I am now! The work in this book could well be the best thing I have ever read, in its genius...