Mystery by the Sea

Mystery by the Sea

by

, 5000-2021, net-galley, british, e-books, 2021-challenge, 2021-netgalley, cozy-mystery, netgalley-arc, 2021, murder, mystery, crime-thrillers, Mystery, Historical, Fiction, Romance

A magnificent seaside hotel, striped deckchairs, strawberry ice cream… and a rather familiar dead body? Lady Swift is on the case!

Spring, 1921. Lady Eleanor Swift, explorer extraordinaire and accidental sleuth, hasn’t had a vacation since she arrived in England a year ago. Being an amateur detective can be a rather tiring business and she is determined to escape any more murder and mysteries. So she books into the Grand Hotel in the fashionable resort of Brighton for some fresh air, fish and chips and, of course, a dip in the ocean.

Eleanor is enjoying her view of the waves and trying to find her bathing suit when calamity strikes: a guest has been found dead at her beautiful hotel. The distraught manager, who can’t afford a scandal, asks Eleanor to solve the case as swiftly as possible. Thank goodness she has her partner in crime – Gladstone the bulldog – to help her sniff out the dastardly culprit.

But when Eleanor enters the dead man’s room, she receives a shock big enough to make her forget even the finest ice cream sundae. The body is that of her husband, who supposedly died six years ago on the other side of the world. Has he been alive all these years? Why does he have a copy of their wedding photograph with a cryptic message written on the back? If Eleanor can keep herself safe long enough to find her husband’s killer, she might discover that everything is not quite as it seems beside the seaside…

A warm and witty whodunnit! Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and L.B. Hathaway will be utterly charmed by this addictive and absolutely gripping page-turner.

Title:Mystery by the Sea
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Mystery by the Sea Reviews

  • Ceecee

    Lady Eleanor Swift returns fairly swiftly (sorry) after her Christmas adventure and she’s off on her hols to celebrate her thirtieth birthday in Brighton, staying at The Grand Hotel. Obviously, Elli...

  • Phrynne

    Lady Eleanor is off on her holidays and of course she takes her staff too so they can all have some R&R in off season Brighton. As usual events intervene and Ellie and her butler Clifford find themsel...

  • Brenda

    As Lady Eleanor Swift arrived at the Grange in Brighton, England, for their much longed-for holiday, the lack of staff in the foyer had Clifford ringing the bell. When men carrying a stretcher walked ...

  • Javier

    Review published in: https://diagnosisbookaholic.blogspot....Lady Swift's 30th birthday deserves a celebration so she takes her whole household off to Brighton to enjoy some well deserved vacation aft...

  • DJ Sakata

    Favorite Quotes:One of her most treasured memories filtered into her mind. Her mother tucking her up in bed after an upsetting experience and whispering, ‘Sleep well, darling girl. All will be fine,...

  • Tahera

    Lady Eleanor Swift is turning 30 and to celebrate this milestone birthday she decides to treat herself and her household staff, who are no less than family to her, to a spring vacation at Brighton. Sh...

  • Gloria Arthur (Ms. G's Bookshelf)

    ⭐️4 Stars⭐️A perfect fun and escapist cozy mystery read with a fresh twist of humour.Mystery by the Sea by Verity Bright is set in England,1921.To celebrate her 30th birthday Lady Eleanor (not...

  • Robin Loves Reading

    Mystery By the Sea is the fifth book in the successful Lady Eleanor Swift cozy mystery series. I love cozy mysteries, and the fact that this is set in the early 1920s definitely adds to its charm....

  • Lou

    Mystery By the Sea is the fifth instalment in the Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in March, 1921 in the sunny coastal resort of Brighton. After a long year of working countless murders around t...

  • Denise

    Lady Eleanor Swift, her butler and partner in crime-solving, Clifford, and the Henley Hall staff are headed to Brighton to enjoy her 30th birthday celebration along with a much deserved holiday. Upon ...