Murder in the Belltower

Murder in the Belltower

by

5000-2021, , arc, historical-fiction, cozy-mystery, netgalley, blog-tour, 2021, cosy-reads, 2021, for-review, law-enforcement, small-town, 02-netgalley-2021, england, period-fiction, Mystery, Historical, Holiday, Romance, European Literature, Audiobook

Kitty Underhay’s hymn book is open… at murder.

Winter, 1933. Kitty Underhay is enjoying a restorative break from sleuthing on a visit to her family at Enderley Hall. The only thing marring her peace – aside from the uncomfortable sensation she has of being watched – is the obvious history between her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant and another guest, the beautiful Juliet Vanderstafen. So, when the parish clerk is found dead on her front doorstep, Kitty leaps at the chance of distraction.

The police are happy to conclude that Miss Plenderleith met her unfortunate end on a patch of ice, but Kitty isn’t convinced this was a case of bad weather and worse luck. And when the Reverend Crabtree fails to show for tea the next day, she heads to the church to speak to him. But she arrives to find the clergyman hanging from the bell rope, dead.

With Matt seemingly wrapped up with his alluring Austrian, Kitty must solve the case on her own. But as she snoops into parish affairs, she makes some less-than-saintly discoveries. Just who has broken the sixth commandment? Meanwhile the killer is preparing a churchyard grave for Kitty, and she’ll have to use all her wits to avoid falling in…

An addictive, absorbing and completely unputdownable Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Title:Murder in the Belltower
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Murder in the Belltower Reviews

  • Phrynne

    Compliments first of all on the continuing beauty of the covers in this series! Whoever the artist is keep them! No compliments however to the person who wrote the Goodreads blurb which has very littl...

  • Brenda

    5th in the Miss Underhay Mysteries, Murder in the Belltower by Helena Dixon is another exciting historical mystery which I thoroughly enjoyed. Spending Christmas with her newly acquired relatives, Kit...

  • Javier

    Review published in: https://diagnosisbookaholic.blogspot....It's Christmas time in the Miss Underhay Mysteries series, so I couldn't have read this at a more perfect time!In this new installment Kitt...

  • DJ Sakata

    Favorite Quotes:Hattie was insisting I get the piano in the music room retuned and having heard her practising her scales I rather think it may be Hattie who has the tuning problem.I heard that Miss M...

  • Tahera

    Murder in the Bell Tower is fifth book in the Miss Underhay series and before reading this I backtracked and read the first book to give me an idea of the main characters and the underlying plotline o...

  • Lou

    Murder in the Belltower is the fifth instalment in the Miss Kitty Underhay Mystery series, set in Enderley. The story opens with an advertisement in the Torbay Herald seeking information leading the a...

  • Robin Loves Reading

    Kitty Underhay has solved more than a few murders, but it is time for a break. What is more is that she is getting closer to discovering what happened to her mother years ago. Also, she has recently b...

  • Carla Johnson-Hicks

    This is the fifth book in the Miss Underhay Mysteries, but can easily be read as a standalone. I had no problem following the story or mystery. Helena Dixon gives enough information, embedded througho...

  • marnie | once upon a time book reviews

    A well earned break from sleuthing and a trip to visit her family at Enderley Hall for Christmas, is just what Kitty Underhay needs. But when the local parish clerk, Miss Plenderleith, is found dead o...

  • Bridget

    Kitty Underhay is leaving her hotel, The Dolphin in Dartmouth that she runs with her grandmother, to visit her family at Enderley Hall for Christmas. Kitty is going with her beau, ex-army captain Matt...