Safe and Sound

Safe and Sound

by

, bell-jars, thriller-suspense, netgalley, physical, edelweiss, peach-vanilla, netgalley, netgalley-audio, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery, Audiobook, Adult, Suspense, European Literature

How is it possible that her body went undiscovered for ten whole months?

Sarah Jones, by all accounts, is young, pretty, charismatic and full of life—a good tenant.


But after three months go by without Sarah paying her rent, property manager Jenn enters the small London apartment to find a radio is playing, a small dining table set for three, and a decomposing body curled up on the sofa…


How is it possible that almost a year went by before someone found Sarah? Who has been paying her rent? Who was she expecting for dinner the night she died? Jenn is determined to uncover the mystery but has demons of her own to contend with…


A masterfully plotted, intelligent and emotionally riveting psychological thriller for fans of Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell.


*************************************
Praise for SAFE AND SOUND
“[A]nother solid psychological thriller… Fully developed characters who behave realistically complement the twisty plot. East is a writer to watch.” – Publishers Weekly


“An atmospheric, page-turning portrait of isolation and mental fragility combining heart-rending sensitivity with sock-it-to-'em twists.” – Helen Monks Takhar, author of Precious You


“Taut, tantalizing suspense… Safe and Sound is gripping, spellbinding, and completely addictive.” – Samantha M. Bailey, author of USA Today and #1 national bestseller Woman on the Edge


“Elegantly written with an effective blend of suspense and psychological insight. An extremely gripping read.” – Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings


“Such an original plot; a heart-breaking exploration of mental illness, loneliness and obsession, with characters who will stay with you long after you’ve read the final page.” – Jackie Kabler, USA Today bestselling author of The Perfect Couple


What readers are saying about SAFE AND SOUND


“Addictive and tense – one of the very best books I’ve read this year.”


“This is the second novel I’ve read by this author, and they seem to get better every time.”


“A remarkable novel… A deep and engrossing thriller that should be on everyone’s 2021 reading list.”

Title:Safe and Sound
ISBN:9780008465520
Format Type:

    Safe and Sound Reviews

  • Michelle

    In a small bedsit in Brixton a woman's body is found curled up on the couch, deceased. A table set for three and bottle of wine covered in dust sit on the table. The chain on the door is locked from t...

  • Ceecee

    Jennifer Arden is the manager of a Housing Association. Along with two bailiffs she goes to evict a tenant,Sarah Jones, for non- payment of rent. They make a horrifying discovery. The story is told pa...

  • Dale Harcombe

    Jennifer knows she should have checked in months ago on Sarah, the housing tenant, but didn’t as she had her own issues to deal with at the time. Now she goes in with the bailiffs after repeated not...

  • Louise Wilson

    In a small London bedsit, a radio is playing. A small dining table is set for three. Curled up on the sofa is a body. Jenn is the one who discovers the woman along with the bailiffs. All indications s...

  • Alayne Emmett

    This dark and twisty book was brilliantly written and at times I gasped at what I was reading as I couldn’t believe it. I just couldn’t put it down until I reached the end of the book. It was so s...

  • Amanda

    Jennifer Arden a manager of a Housing Association, goes to one of their property’s with two bailiffs. Tenant Sarah Jane has not paid her rent for several months and has ignored the final warnings sh...

  • Bill Kupersmith

    I read this book under false pretenses, believing it to be a work of crime fiction. After being disappointed, I went back over its listing on Amazon.com and found it advertised as a 'mystery' and a 'p...

  • ??? Shelley's ??? Book Nook

    I did not like this book, the character of Jennifer was a massive helicopter mom bordering on child abuse. The book itself was very repetitive to the point of rambling and I didn't find ...

  • Kirsten McKenzie

    It's not often you hold your breath as you near the end of a book! I had no idea what was going to happen or who was who, especially when it seemed like no one was who they said they were. Eeeekkk.Lov...

  • Sarah

    This book was not the gritty crime thriller that I was anticipating. I did not experience any sense of tension or drama in this story, instead feeling like I was muddling through an awkward dream. The...