Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

by

, netgalley, death-dying-end-of-life, atria, 2021, first-reads, netgalley-edelweiss, lgbt, arc, netgalley, loved, arc-provided-by-publisher, my-favorite-books, netgalley, adult-lit, favorites, giveaways-read, dnf, netgalley-completed-review-shelf, Fiction, Contemporary, LGBT, Health, Adult, Literary Fiction, GLBT, Adult Fiction, Novels

This hilarious and profound debut for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin follows a morbidly anxious young woman who stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and becomes obsessed with her predecessor’s mysterious death.

Gilda, a twenty-something, atheist, animal-loving lesbian, cannot stop ruminating about death. Desperate for relief from her panicky mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local Catholic church, and finds herself being greeted by Father Jeff, who assumes she’s there for a job interview. Too embarrassed to correct him, Gilda is abruptly hired to replace the recently deceased receptionist Grace.

In between trying to memorize the lines to Catholic mass, hiding the fact that she has a new girlfriend, and erecting a dirty dish tower in her crumbling apartment, Gilda strikes up an email correspondence with Grace’s old friend. She can’t bear to ignore the kindly old woman, who has been trying to reach her friend through the church inbox, but she also can’t bring herself to break the bad news. Desperate, she begins impersonating Grace via email. But when the police discover suspicious circumstances surrounding Grace’s death, Gilda may have to finally reveal the truth of her mortifying existence.

A delightful blend of warmth, deadpan humor, and pitch-perfect observations about the human condition, Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling exploration of what it takes to stay afloat in a world where your expiration—and the expiration of those you love—is the only certainty.

Title:Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead
ISBN:9781982167356
Format Type:

    Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead Reviews

  • MarilynW

    Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily R. AustinI can't say I liked or enjoyed this book. It is so overwhelmingly depressing, so many people are depressed, and there doesn't seem to be an...

  • Cheri

    This story begins with Gilda in her car, the light is green, she isn’t moving, but it takes her a moment before she can recall what just happened. Hit from behind by a minivan, her airbag not only d...

  • Christine

    2.5 stars rounded to 3 starsWell, this one kind of missed the mark for me. It is good, but not great. Gilda is a 28-year-old atheist lesbian who is fixated on death. Really fixated. She thinks about i...

  • DeAnn

    3.5 obsessed with death starsGilda is a young woman struggling mightily with depression and anxiety. She was recently fired from her job for missing several shifts in a row and she’s in a minor car ...

  • Erin Clemence

    Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date: July 6, 2021 Fans of “Ele...

  • Luce

    / / / Read more reviews on my blog / / /2 ½ stars (rounded up to 3)Sadly Everyone in This Room Will Someday be Dead doesn't bring anything new to the directionless-young-woman-spends-all-her-time-na...

  • Erik

    Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is Emily Austin's darkly humorous and yet realistically prescient tale of the ways in which dread and anxiety - and a desire to please people - can spiral ou...

  • Theresa Alan

    I thought by the title and the cheery cover this would be funnier than it turned out to be. I was expecting dark humor, but this is mostly just dark. Depressing. Bleak. Lots of characters in this nove...

  • Kelso

    Plot: "A morbidly anxious young woman stumbles into a job as a receptionist for a Catholic church, where she becomes obsessed with her predecessor's mysterious death."HOLY CRAPOLA Y'ALL.HO-LEE. CRAP-O...

  • Maddie Boyd

    This book is a new all-time FAVOURITE. Following Gilda's perspective throughout this novel was a delight. I fell in love with her. I LOVE HER. Gilda's fixation on death is incorporated seamlessly into...