Chunky

Chunky

by

fiction, , graphic-novels, fat-rep, comedy, bipoc-author-mc, authors-of-color, read-in-2021, middle-grade-graphic-novels, graphic-novels, baseball, 21-ages-10-11, graphic-novel, aoc, Sequential Art, Childrens, Autobiography, Humor, Nonfiction, Graphic Novels Comics, Sports, Biography Memoir, Family

In this full-color middle grade graphic memoir for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft, Yehudi Mercado draws inspiration from his childhood struggle with his weight while finding friendship with his imaginary mascot, Chunky, as he navigates growing up in a working-class Mexican Jewish family.

Hudi needs to lose weight, according to his doctors. Concerned about the serious medical issue Hudi had when he was younger, his parents push him to try out for sports. Hudi would rather do anything else, but then he meets Chunky, his imaginary friend and mascot. Together, they decide to give baseball a shot.

Hudi has found the cheerleader he never had, as Chunky cheers him on even when Hudi barely makes the team. Baseball doesn’t go well (unless getting hit by the ball counts), but the two friends have a great time drawing and making jokes. While Hudi’s parents keep trying to find the right sport for him, Chunky encourages him to pursue his true love—comedy.

But when Hudi’s dad loses his job, it gets harder for Hudi to chart his own course, even with Chunky’s guidance. Can Chunky help Hudi stay true to himself, or will this friendship strike out?

Title:Chunky
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780062972798
Format Type:

    Chunky Reviews

  • Carmen

    "Yeah! Baseball! Babe Ruth was pretty fat and HE was good at baseball. You're going to have to clear some room for ALL THE TROPHIES I'm gonna win." pg. 26This is a book about a Mexican Jewish boy name...

  • Frank Chillura (OhYouRead)

    I pick up a lot of Graphic Novels lately. Especially Middle Grade ones that have a point or meaning behind the story. I appreciate that Chunky was telling the story of a young boy, in and out of the h...

  • Pam  Page

    I love it when I find a quality graphic novel that I know kids will love and relate to and Chunky sure fits that! The artwork is so vibrant, the story so important for kids who are trying to find thei...

  • Sarah

    I’m a teacher and I’m always looking for new graphic novels for my classroom. But there are so many things in this that are just uncomfortable. -claiming another kid got out of juvie -gun referenc...

  • Michelle

    I loved that Chunky was Hudi's imaginary friend and self-esteem cheerleader. However, I wish Hudi had found a support person that was not imaginary. Not every kid is able to imagine cheering themselve...

  • Marilyn Carr

    Format Read: Book (Graphic Novel)Cover Art: 4 starsLibrary Buy: YesReview: Fantastic, funny, and entertaining memoir with a lot of heart! We all need a Chunky in our life to cheer us on. I totally rel...

  • Linda Stack-Nelson

    Funny! Sweet! Real! Love it....

  • Cassie Thomas

    I absolutely loved the message behind this story. The situations are so real, so much Hudi’s life, and I love that he shared these personal situations with kids especially. I know others wish he had...

  • Shawn Norton

    An enjoyable and relatable graphic novel for school-aged kids. I was shocked by how much I related to the main character/author. We have very different families and upbringings but being a fat kid who...

  • Cassie GAPLD

    Hudi is a sweet and funny boy navigating health problems. When his doctor encourages him to play sports to improve his health, he decides to take a stab at a variety of activities with sometimes disas...