Girl A

Girl A

by

, dnf, book-of-the-month, books-i-wish-everyone-would-read, dnf, 2020, 2021, read-in-2021, crime-and-punishment, dnf, best-of-2021, release-2021, book-of-the-month, 2021, 4-stars, creepy, 2021, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, Adult, Contemporary, Audiobook, Adult Fiction, Literary Fiction

For readers of Room and Sharp Objects, a propulsive and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity--but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life.

"'Girl A, ' she said. 'The girl who escaped. If anyone was going to make it, it was going to be you.'"

Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family. She doesn't want to think about growing up in her parents' House of Horrors. And she doesn't want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped, the eldest sister who freed her older brother and four younger siblings. It's been easy enough to avoid her parents--her father never made it out of the House of Horrors he created, and her mother spent the rest of her life behind bars. But when her mother dies in prison and leaves Lex and her siblings the family home, she can't run from her past any longer. Together with her sister, Evie, Lex intends to turn the House of Horrors into a force for good. But first she must come to terms with her siblings - and with the childhood they shared.

What begins as a propulsive tale of escape and survival becomes a gripping psychological family story about the shifting alliances and betrayals of sibling relationships--about the secrets our siblings keep, from themselves and each other. Who have each of these siblings become? How do their memories defy or galvanize Lex's own? As Lex pins each sibling down to agree to her family's final act, she discovers how potent the spell of their shared family mythology is, and who among them remains in its thrall and who has truly broken free.

Title:Girl A
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Girl A Reviews

  • daph pink ?

    [email protected]%Honestly I feel a little bit bad about DNF'ing this one, and seeing that many people have enjoyed it, I feel like I might just have commitment issues, but I promised myself that I wasn't going...

  • Nilufer Ozmekik

    Breathtaking, remarkably intense, dark story of survivor girl who accomplished to escape from House of Horrors! Yes, he storyline already hooked me from the first chapter! Get ready to read something ...

  • Val ?? Shameless Non-Snowflake ??

    4.5 StarsI love true crime books that would make most people squirm. It might be morbid, but I find the psychology behind serial killers and people capable of unspeakable violence to be sickly fascina...

  • Lexi

    Anyway, let's bring in a large cast of characters with complicated relationships, speak vaguely about literally every god damn thing, and not explain what's going on or bother introducing the characte...

  • Ceecee

    Alexandra Gracie is Girl A, now a successful New York based lawyer at the age of 15 she escaped the ‘House of Horrors’ in England where she and her siblings suffered neglect and abuse. This is an ...

  • Elizabeth

    Tl;dr: Girl A isn't an easy read, but it's one you absolutely should read. Yes, even now.Girl A is an unflinching look at the long term effects of child abuse and it's an intense and well-written nove...

  • Amanda

    Lex and her siblings grew up in her parents house of horrors, she managed to escape and was known as “Child A the girl who survived”When Lex’s mother dies in prison, she is asked to be the execu...

  • jaime ??

    ➽ 2021 reads: book 10/75DNF'd at page 1oo.this was just way too convoluted and i couldn't connect to the story at all. note to the author: if we're going to jump timelines (which is one of my all ti...

  • Joey R.

    *** 1.0 stars for the 42% of the book I read. I usually finish every book I start, but not this one. To say I was bored from start to finish is an understatement. The author kept going between the pas...

  • Tammy

    Lex, Girl A, is the survivor and savior of her siblings from their parents’ home where they were starved and incarcerated. We’ve all read accounts of these horrifying houses but what happens to th...