Sistersong

Sistersong

by

, gorgeous-prose, netgalley, fairy-tale, 2021-april, fantasy, 2021-releases, advanced-reader-copies, netgalley, historical-fiction, arcs, netgalleys, review-books, lgbt-trans, genre-fantasy, Fantasy, Historical, Fiction, LGBT, Adult, Retellings, Historical Fiction, Young Adult

535 AD. In the ancient kingdom of Dumnonia, King Cador's children inherit a fragmented land abandoned by the Romans.

Riva, scarred in a terrible fire, fears she will never heal.
Keyne battles to be seen as the king's son, when born a daughter.
And Sinne, the spoiled youngest girl, yearns for romance.

All three fear a life of confinement within the walls of the hold – a last bastion of strength against the invading Saxons. But change comes on the day ash falls from the sky, bringing Myrddhin, meddler and magician, and Tristan, a warrior whose secrets will tear the siblings apart. Riva, Keyne and Sinne must take fate into their own hands, or risk being tangled in a story they could never have imagined; one of treachery, love and ultimately, murder. It's a story that will shape the destiny of Britain.

Title:Sistersong
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781529039030
Format Type:

    Sistersong Reviews

  • Ellie (faerieontheshelf)

    truly enjoyed this, from its roots in ancient British folklore to the strength of its leading characters and the beauty of the prose. rtc!! > 4.2/4.5 starsThank you to PanMacmillan UK for sending me a...

  • Emma

    There was a time when Britain was filled with magic. Now it is failing, pushed out by the Christian God and his acolytes. Three sisters stand at the precipice of this new world, their stories interwov...

  • tinabel

    4.5 starsNot being familiar with the folk ballad mentioned in the book description for Sistersong, I googled it:The Twa Sisters, or Two Sisters, is a traditional murder ballad dating as far back as th...

  • Bookphenomena (Micky)

    3.5 starsHeadlines:Three siblings, three povsDetailedTwistyThis fantasy-esque historical story was very different to my expectations and not in a bad way. The story starts with three sisters and ends ...

  • Filip

    This review was originally published over at The Fantasy Hive, one of the greatest bloody sites for SFF reviews around...so, go stalk it, you weirdo!In Sistersong, Lucy Holland tackles themes ranging ...

  • fanna

    October 14, 2020: Anything said to be perfect for fans of Madeline Miller is PERFECT FOR ME because oh my, yes, this book is even giving my Circe vibes—even though I know it's set in magical ancient...

  • Paige

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I'm just saying please buy this book, please read it, please experience it and please feel all the feelings it's going to give you. It ...

  • Runalong

    This was excellent epic fantasy (and standalone too) three siblings in 6th century Britain at a time of Christianity versus pagan religions and old magic while also marauding Anglo Saxons on the borde...

  • K.S. Marsden

    After their father, the king, abandons the old gods; Riva, Keyne and Sinne can feel the magic of the land fading.I received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.This follows the...

  • Vikki Patis

    Sistersong is a truly compelling novel, blending magic and folklore with suspense and characters that really draw you in. I found the three siblings intriguing in their own right - Riva for her flawed...