Unsettled

Unsettled

by

, 2021-releases, 2021-longlist, box5, bipoc, mg-fiction, muslim-rep, 2021-read, asian-books, 2021, middle-grade, read-in-2021, Childrens, Poetry, Realistic Fiction, Contemporary, Cultural, Fiction, Academic, Family, Young Adult

A stirring, hopeful immigration story of Nurah and her family, who move from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, from Reem Faruqi, ALA Notable author of the award-winning picture book Lailah’s Lunchbox. Powerful and charming, Other Words for Home meets Front Desk in this debut middle grade novel in verse about finding your footing in a new world.

From Pakistan to Peachtree City—Nurah’s stirring story of finding your place.

When Nurah’s family moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, all she really wants is to blend in, but she stands out for all the wrong reasons. Nurah’s accent, floral-print kurtas, and tea-colored skin make her feel excluded, and she’s left to eat lunch alone under the stairwell, until she meets Stahr at swimming tryouts. Stahr covers her body when in the water, just like Nurah, but for very different reasons.

But in the water Nurah doesn’t want to blend in: She wants to stand out. She wants to win medals like her star athlete brother, Owais—who is going through struggles of his own in America—yet when sibling rivalry gets in the way, she makes a split-second decision of betrayal that changes their fates.

As Nurah slowly begins to sprout wings in the form of strong swimming arms, she gradually gains the courage to stand up to bullies, fight for what she believes in, and find her place.

Title:Unsettled
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780063044708
Format Type:

    Unsettled Reviews

  • Reading_ Tam_ Ishly

    "...but they forget thatwe can hearmuch morethan they think."A book about an immigrant family from Pakistan to the US,A book in verse which is told from the perspective of Nurah, a thirteen year old g...

  • Fanna

    October 24, 2020: I am a little sad to be hearing about this book right now because IT SOUNDS SO CUTE and I should've already been hyping it up!!!...

  • Kathie

    Thank you Edelweiss+ and the publisher for an eARC of this book.5 stars!!! What an absolutely beautiful story. This novel in verse comes out in May 2021, and is perfect for fans of stories like Other ...

  • Richie Partington

    Richie’s Picks: UNSETTLED by Reem Faruqi, HarperCollins, May 2021, 352p., ISBN: 978-0-06-304470-8“When President Joe Biden rescinded former President Donald Trump’s ban on immigrant visas from m...

  • Toya (the reading chemist)

    Nurah and her family lives in Pakistan while her father works in the US, but that changes when he decides it's time to relocate the family in favor of more opportunities. Nurah doesn’t want to leave...

  • Lorie Barber

    This BRILLIANT novel-in-verse comes from Reem Faruqi, the author of Laila’s Lunchbox, one of my favorite picture books. Unsettled is Nurah’s story, told in lyrical first person, of her move from P...

  • h i n d

    I loved it !Very wholesome, and the muslim representation was perfect "Quickwipe the counters,Quickwash the dishes,Quickvacuum the crumbs.But why?We wonder.Because we don’t want the plumberto think ...

  • Tina Athaide

    This is one of those stories that sits with you long after you finish reading. Readers will be captivated by Faruqi's poetic verse and find themselves immersed in Nurah Haqq's life as she navigates li...

  • Amani

    Disclaimer: I got this ARC on @NetGalley.This is a book I wish I had when I was younger and I think it's perfect for fans of Once Upon an Eid! It touches on what it's like to be the new kid and to be ...

  • Katie Reilley

    Absolutely stunning middle grade novel in verse! With the hope of new opportunity, Nurah’s father makes the decision to move her family from Karachi, Pakistan to Peachtree City, Georgia. Nurah is to...