Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream

Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream

A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.

Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature.

In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.

Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts—a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.

• IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.
• TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.
• INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.

Perfect for:

• Fans of culinary nonfiction
• Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen
• Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking

Title:Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream
ISBN:9781797202242
Format Type:

    Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream Reviews

  • Kru

    First things first - I totally love this cover. This is an alluring compilation of recipes on Vietnamese cooking alongside a narrative of friendship, faith, harmony that blends in the American dream a...

  • Jessica Haider

    I love food memoirs! Mango and Peppercorns is the story of a Vietnamese refugee, the family she forged with an American woman, and the restaurant they opened together. Tung escaped from Vietnam as a r...

  • Claire

    I was given access to the eARC of this book thanks to the authors, the publisher, and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Mango and Peppercorns is a moving memoir of Vietnamese food, culture, ...

  • Natalie White

    This multi-narrator memoir offers a view into the lives of a Vietnamese refugee and her American host. Through their narratives and reflection Nguyen (the Vietnamese refugee) and Manning (her host) sh...

  • Kirsten Clark

    Wow what am interesting life! It is always so fascinating to me to read about immigrants who truly discover the American dream life. This story is particularly inspiring because they create an entirel...

  • Veronica

    Rating: 4.5 stars"After learning that Vietnamese eat fried or steamed fish with a side of unripe green mango and fish sauce, all garnished with hers, I happened to see a recipe for fish with mango and...

  • Meghan

    This book was received as an ARC from Chronicle Books in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own.If you want inspiration and are a foodie li...

  • Janet

    Date reviewed/posted: December 7, 2020Publication date: March 16, 2021When life for the entire universe and planet turns on its end and like everyone else you "have nothing to do" while your place of ...

  • Opal E

    Mango and Peppercorns by Tung Nguyen, Katherine Manning, and Lyn Nguyen is a memoir about a famous Miami restaurant and how it came to be, how it introduced the region to Vietnamese food, and how it s...

  • Ashley

    Mango and Peppercorn is a delightful cookbook for people like me, who prefer memoirs and stories over lists of recipes and directions. When I learned that this cookbook was a memoir about three women ...