What's Mine and Yours

What's Mine and Yours

From the author of Halsey Street, a sweeping novel of legacy, identity, the American family-and the ways that race affects even our most intimate relationships.

A community in the Piedmont of North Carolina rises in outrage as a county initiative draws students from the largely Black east side of town into predominantly white high schools on the west. For two students, Gee and Noelle, the integration sets off a chain of events that will tie their two families together in unexpected ways over the span of the next twenty years.

On one side of the integration debate is Jade, Gee's steely, ambitious mother. In the aftermath of a harrowing loss, she is determined to give her son the tools he'll need to survive in America as a sensitive, anxious, young Black man. On the other side is Noelle's headstrong mother, Lacey May, a white woman who refuses to see her half-Latina daughters as anything but white. She strives to protect them as she couldn't protect herself from the influence of their charming but unreliable father, Robbie.

When Gee and Noelle join the school play meant to bridge the divide between new and old students, their paths collide, and their two seemingly disconnected families begin to form deeply knotted, messy ties that will shape the trajectory of their adult lives. And their mothers-each determined to see her child inherit a better life-will make choices that will haunt them for decades to come.

As love is built and lost, and the past never too far behind, What's Mine and Yours is an expansive, vibrant tapestry that moves between the years, from the foothills of North Carolina, to Atlanta, Los Angeles, and Paris. It explores the unique organism that is every family: what breaks them apart and how they come back together.

Title:What's Mine and Yours
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781538702345
Format Type:

    What's Mine and Yours Reviews

  • Katie B

    There's so much going on in this novel that each reader has the potential to take away something different from the story. Race, addiction, social class, and relationships are just some of the subject...

  • Mary Keane

    This novel is a masterpiece. I loved it....

  • Jenna Hager

    “What’s Mine and Yours” by Naima Coster is a sweeping, fresh new novel. It is the story of two American families, specifically two mothers, each fighting for a better future for their kids. As a...

  • BookOfCinz

    I think I will need to re-read this book one more time, just to make sure my review is correct. The writing is amazing! Having read Coster's previous book, I can tell you her writing aged beautifully....

  • Traci at The Stacks

    A family drama type story with intersecting characters over 30 years. Overall very solid. The book hooked me from the start (though I lost steam 60% in) and I was interested in most of the characters....

  • Cody | CodysBookshelf

    Oh, I wanted to like this. Giving it such a low rating pains me. Recommended for fans of Ask Again, Yes and A Good Neighborhood—books I love, both—this is a multi-generational contemporary story t...

  • Elyse  Walters

    Audiobook.... read by the great Bahni Turpin “ This novel has a significant amount of empathy for all its characters, even the ones that are difficult to like or you disagree with their world view...

  • Molly

    Calling it now - this one is going to be popular when it debuts in March 2021 (for good reason!)What's Mine and Yours features multiple POVs spanning the early 90s to the present. We're introduced to ...

  • Lauren

    I loved reading this book for the beauty of the story and the writer's skill. It's wonderful to read a novel about people of color that reads like real people with flaws (not magical like Secret Life ...

  • Geraldine (geraldinereads)

    This book is about two families: Jade, Ray, Gee and Lacey Mae, Noelle, Margarita, and Diane. I don't want to give away too much else because this is the type of book where it's better to go in not kno...