Infinite Country

Infinite Country

Alternate cover edition of ISBN 9781982159467.

For readers of Valeria Luiselli and Edwidge Danticat, an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation, offering an intimate perspective on an experience that so many have endured—and are enduring right now.

At the dawn of the new millennium, Colombia is a country devastated by half a century of violence. Elena and Mauro are teenagers when they meet, their blooming love an antidote to the mounting brutality of life in Bogotá. Once their first daughter is born, and facing grim economic prospects, they set their sights on the United States.

They travel to Houston and send wages back to Elena’s mother, all the while weighing whether to risk overstaying their tourist visas or to return to Bogotá. As their family expands, and they move again and again, their decision to ignore their exit dates plunges the young family into the precariousness of undocumented status, the threat of discovery menacing a life already strained. When Mauro is deported, Elena, now tasked with caring for their three small children, makes a difficult choice that will ease her burdens but splinter the family even further.

Award-winning, internationally acclaimed author Patricia Engel, herself the daughter of Colombian immigrants and a dual citizen, gives voice to Mauro and Elena, as well as their children, Karina, Nando, and Talia—each one navigating a divided existence, weighing their allegiance to the past, the future, to one another, and to themselves. Rich with Bogotá urban life, steeped in Andean myth, and tense with the daily reality for the undocumented in America, Infinite Country is the story of two countries and one mixed-status family—for whom every triumph is stitched with regret and every dream pursued bears the weight of a dream deferred.

Title:Infinite Country
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Infinite Country Reviews

  • Jenny Lawson

    This book is very good and I'm glad I read it. I had to put it down a lot because of the amount of sexual assault though and I wish I'd known to read it when I was feeling a little less brittle so I'm...

  • s.penkevich

    ‘We’re all migrants here on earth.’Immigrants have always been the targets of aggression and political discourse. This has been all the more heightened in the past few years as the recent govern...

  • Melissa

    I finished this book in tears because wow ... this book took my breath away. This story gripped my heart from the beginning. The way the author entwined Andean myths and legends of Colombia into the s...

  •  𝕕𝕒𝕟𝕖𝕣𝕪𝕤 ?

    4.5 starsI am in awe. This is such an impactful, important, necessary book, and it’s done so well. Everyone should read this. Everyone. I can’t find a single things wrong with it; the only reason ...

  • AnnaLuce

    / / / Read more reviews on my blog / / /“What was it about this country that kept everyone hostage to its fantasy?” Infinite Country shares much in common with two of other novels by Patricia Eng...

  • Lisa

    [3.8] Infinite Country is the searing story of a family divided by borders and immigration status. In a mere 191 pages, Engel attempts to create an entire history of Mauro and Elena, her mother, and t...

  • SheLovesThePages

    •Rating•⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 starsMust Read•Review•This is a book that needs to be read. Not because it's beautifully written or suspenseful or a page turner, but because it is important. We are ...

  • Susan's Reviews

    If this author doesn't get a Pulitzer or a Nobel prize for this novel, then there is no justice in this world.Young Talia's predicament filled me with constant dread. The narrator's tone is dispassion...

  • Traci at The Stacks

    The writing in this book is really good. The way she manipulates language to craft the book, and in so few pages, is really impressive. I enjoyed reading the book and was curious what would happen in ...

  • Lauren

    Wow. This small novel has a powerful kick. A story of immigration, family, love, and loss. ...