Good Eggs

Good Eggs

by

, contemporary-fiction, netgalley, arc, netgalley, adult-fiction, 2021-reads, fresh-meat, netgalley, cultural-ireland, playful, netgalley, adult-fiction, netgalley-arc, under-20-bookclub, simon-schuster-canada-arc, arcs, received-from-publisher, Fiction, Cultural, Contemporary, Humor, Adult Fiction, Family, Adult, European Literature, Literary Fiction, Audiobook

A hilarious and heartfelt debut novel following three generations of a boisterous Irish family whose simmering tensions boil over when an American home aide enters the picture, becoming the calamitous force that will either undo or remake this family—perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

When Kevin Gogarty’s irrepressible eighty-three-year-old mother, Millie, is caught shoplifting yet again, he has no choice but to hire a caretaker to keep an eye on her. Kevin, recently unemployed, is already at his wits’ end tending to a full house while his wife travels to exotic locales for work, leaving him solo with his sulky, misbehaved teenaged daughter, Aideen, whose troubles escalate when she befriends the campus rebel at her new boarding school.

Into the Gogarty fray steps Sylvia, Millie’s upbeat American home aide, who appears at first to be their saving grace—until she catapults the Gogarty clan into their greatest crisis yet.

With charm, humor, and pathos to spare, Good Eggs is a delightful study in self-determination; the notion that it’s never too late to start living; and the unique redemption that family, despite its maddening flaws, can offer.

Title:Good Eggs
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781982164294
Format Type:

    Good Eggs Reviews

  • Paromjit

    Rebecca Hardiman's debut novel revolves around a multigenerational Irish family living in Dun Laoghaire, Dublin, a small gossipy place where everyone knows everyone. Feisty gran, 83 year old Millie is...

  • Liz

    This novel tackles the problems of three generations of an Irish family. We have 83 year old Millie, accused of shoplifting and obviously suffering the first effects of dementia. Her son, Kevin, unemp...

  • Katie B

    3.5 starsSometimes you find yourself drawn to certain characters and that's my experience with the Gogarty family. I can't say I loved them, nor do I hate them, but I instantly felt invested enough to...

  • Kerrin  P

    Good Eggs is a debut novel by Rebecca Hardiman. It is a story of three generations of the Gogarty family in Dublin, Ireland that is told with enough humor to make it endearing. While the main characte...

  • Gabrielle Grosbety

    “At sixteen or seventeen, a year from now is unfathomable.” Wow, what a beautiful book about the Gogarty family, an Irish family with all the right kinds of dysfunction and flawed lovability, incl...

  • Barbara

    After reading GR friend Holly’s review of “Good Eggs” by Rebecca Hardiman, I was inspired to get the novel. I needed an amusing story that was a warm, humorous reading pleasure. “Good Eggs” ...

  • Bam cooks the books ;-)

    Meaning of the idiom 'a good egg': "Good egg is a friendly, old-fashioned way to talk about a good guy or a kind person. The expression originally came from its opposite, bad egg, British public schoo...

  • Elaine

    Thank you to NetGalley for an ARC of Good Eggs. The blurb made this sound like a straightforward, albeit typical novel about a feisty older lady who triumphs over being elderly and overlooked with ...

  • Rose

    Good Eggs, by Author Rebecca Hardiman is her debut novel.This is a fun book from start to finish, all being told with an Irish style of storytelling. The characters are lively and colourful, and there...

  • Cheri

    Set in Dublin, Ireland, this story centers around the Gogarty family, which is experiencing a myriad of problems, seemingly all at once. Millie is 83 years old, a widow who seems to have a habit of na...