Libertie

Libertie

by

, edelweiss, loved, 4-good-reads, historical-fiction, arc, historical-fiction, march-2021, audiobooks, historic-fiction-1800s, algonquinbooks, historical-fiction, netgalley, hoopla, historical-fiction, direct-from-publisher, audiobooks, blm, Historical, Fiction, Feminism, Adult Fiction, Audiobook, Adult, Cultural, Race, Literary Fiction

The critically acclaimed and Whiting Award–winning author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman returns with an unforgettable story about the meaning of freedom.
 
Coming of age as a free-born Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, Libertie Sampson was all too aware that her purposeful mother, a practicing physician, had a vision for their future together: Libertie would go to medical school and practice alongside her. But Libertie, drawn more to music than science, feels stifled by her mother’s choices and is hungry for something else—is there really only one way to have an autonomous life? And she is constantly reminded that, unlike her mother, who can pass, Libertie has skin that is too dark.

When a young man from Haiti proposes to Libertie and promises she will be his equal on the island, she accepts, only to discover that she is still subordinate to him and all men. As she tries to parse what freedom actually means for a Black woman, Libertie struggles with where she might find it—for herself and for generations to come.
 
Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail, Kaitlyn Greenidge’s new novel resonates in our times and is perfect for readers of Brit Bennett, Min Jin Lee, and Yaa Gyasi.

Title:Libertie
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781616207014
Format Type:

    Libertie Reviews

  • Roxane

    This is an interesting novel. Libertie is the daughter of a physician. Both she and her mother are free black women. The novel begins near the end of the Civil War, Libertie as a child, helping her mo...

  • Debra

    "For to be free is not merely to cast off one's chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others." - Nelson MandelaLibertie Sampson's mother was a practicing physician in ...

  • BookOfCinz

    The only good poem I’ve ever written is you. A daughter is a poem. A daughter is a kind of psalm. You, in the world, responding to me, is a song I made. I cannot make another. In Kaitlyn Greenidge...

  • AnnaLuce

    / / / Read more reviews on my blog / / /3½ stars (possibly to be rounded up to 4) “I saw my mother raise a man from the dead. It still didn't help him much, my love, she told me. But I saw her do...

  • Lisa

    [3.5] Libertie lives in the shadow of her successful mother, a freeborn black doctor, and struggles to find a place for herself. Set during Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, an all Black college in Ohio an...

  • Amy Imogene Reads

    4.5 starsFrom girlhood to womanhood, Libertie is one woman's journey to freedom—both mental and physical—inspired by the life of one of America's first Black female doctors. Talk about some stunni...

  • Whitney Erwin

    This book started off pretty interesting but got slow. I considered DNFing it a couple times but went ahead and finished it. I didn’t care for the character of Libertie or her mother and there wasn...

  • Larry H

    3.5 stars.Thought-provoking and emotional, Kaitlyn Greenidge's Libertie is a reflection on what freedom really means and how relationships of all kinds are sometimes the things keeping you from be...

  • Kelsey Mangeni (kman.reads)

    Libertie is growing up during the Reconstruction era, training under her mother, a black physician. This book started out interestingly enough, but as it went on it got slower, and more boring, and th...

  • Darlene

    Libertie Sampson was born free. The daughter of a single mother and accomplished doctor, she was supposed to have a bright future and follow in her mother's footsteps, but living someone else's dream ...