In the Quick

In the Quick

A young, ambitious female astronaut's life is upended by a fiery love affair that threatens the rescue of a lost crew in this brilliantly imagined novel in the tradition of Station Eleven and The Martian.

June is a brilliant but difficult girl with a gift for mechanical invention, who leaves home to begin a grueling astronaut training program. Six years later, she has gained a coveted post as an engineer on a space station, but is haunted by the mystery of Inquiry, a revolutionary spacecraft powered by her beloved late uncle's fuel cells. The spacecraft went missing when June was twelve years old, and while the rest of the world has forgotten them, June alone has evidence that makes her believe the crew is still alive.

She seeks out James, her uncle's former protégée, also brilliant, also difficult, who has been trying to discover why Inquiry's fuel cells failed. James and June forge an intense intellectual bond that becomes an electric attraction. But the love that develops between them as they work to solve the fuel cell's fatal flaw threatens to destroy everything they've worked so hard to create--and any chance of bringing the Inquiry crew home alive.

Equal parts gripping narrative of scientific discovery and charged love story, In the Quick is an exploration of the strengths and limits of human ability in the face of hardship and the costs of human ingenuity. At its beating heart are June and James, whose love for each other is eclipsed only by their drive to conquer the challenges of space travel.

Title:In the Quick
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780525511250
Format Type:

    In the Quick Reviews

  • h o l l i s

    The best part of this story is the synopsis.The worst part? The dialogue has no quotation marks. You have to pay attention and filter out action from words and all I'll say is I'm glad this was a shor...

  • Jypsy

    Thank you Random House for a complimentary copy. I voluntarily reviewed this book. All opinions expressed are my own. In The Quick By: Kate Hope DayREVIEW ☆☆☆☆Synopsis A young, ambitious femal...

  • Sheri

    This was an absolutely stellar read! It is filled with multiple elements; it has romance, mystery, suspense, space/aeronautical theme and a science fiction feel to everything. The book completely held...

  • Jacqie

    Thanks to Netgalley for providing a copy of this book for review.For some reason, I really loved the cover of this book. You never see pink associated with astronauts! The figure seems to be falling a...

  • Nikki Dolson

    This book! June, lovely June. At twelve she is engaging and smart and passionate. Her love for an uncle, now dead, is palpable. He stoked her dreams and even though he’s gone June carries. I loved f...

  • Karen?s Library

    For me, at first, this book was all about the cover. That gorgeous pink color with an astronaut on it. I was all in as soon as I saw it.As for the inside, it was... different. June is a brilliant, ecc...

  • Toya (the reading chemist)

    DNF at 20%One of my biggest issues when it comes to sci-fi is when too many creative liberties are taken since it’s still supposed to be rooted in science. In the Quick definitely falls down that tr...

  • Karla Urias Cardiel

    At first a seemingly straight forward science fiction a-la The Martian and Ad Astra with later allusions to Moon (Sam Rockwell) and Gravity (Sandra Bullock) lingering in the Pink silt. June was such a...

  • Kendra

    In a dystopian world where children are trained to become astronauts in their teens, protagonist June is a precocious, self-centered, thoughtless child who grows into a hubristic, self-centered, thoug...

  • Rachel McKenny

    THE MARTIAN meets JANE EYRE in this rich sophomore novel. I was immediately snagged by Kate Hope Day's prose and totally wrapped up in June's story from page one. Recommend!...