One Jar of Magic

One Jar of Magic

From the critically acclaimed author of Eventown comes a hopeful and empowering tale set in an enchanting world of magic and mysterious family secrets—perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass.

Magic is like a dream. Delightful. Terrifying. Unreal.

Rose Alice Anders is Little Luck. Lucky to be born into the Anders family. Lucky to be just as special and magical as the most revered man in town—her father. The whole town has been waiting for Rose to turn twelve, when she can join them in their annual capturing of magic on New Year’s Day and become the person she was born to be.

But when that special day finally comes, Rose barely captures one tiny jar of magic. Now Rose’s dad won’t talk to her anymore and her friendships have gotten all twisted and wrong. So when Rose hears whispers that there are people who aren’t meant for magic at all, she begins to wonder if that’s who she belongs with.

Maybe if she’s away from all the magic, away from her dad telling her who she’s meant to be, who she has to be, Rose can begin to piece together what’s truly real in a world full of magic.

Title:One Jar of Magic
ISBN:9780062689856
Format Type:

    One Jar of Magic Reviews

  • Soup

    Readers picking up a copy of One Jar of Magic could be excused for assuming, as I did, that it's a pleasant little magical story about a girl who discovers her true self instead of the self her parent...

  • Dana

    "Except that's not quite exactly what was wrong to begin with. The thing I'm most scared of in my family was never that they might split up. It's that they might always stay together like this.""My fa...

  • ???? ??????  ???ŕ? HÓ

    I read One Jar Of Magic in a sitting yesterday, feeling magical every turn of the page. ŃéĚÔŁŁJust because something looks like magic doesn't make it magic. Don't be fooled ÔŁ×Rose was destined to be ...

  • Michele Knott

    A book that will leave you thinking for awhile. This layered story of abuse and having something that is desired by all, is one that will leave readers talking about what it all really means. A good b...

  • Lindsay

    I loved Haydu's other books but I never found that connection with this one. The magic wasn't really explained and the characters had no depth. The conversations were very stilted between the characte...

  • Marla

    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for a free e-arc to review.I really enjoyed this book. Haydu did such a wonderful job of capturing all of the not-a-little-kid-anymore-but-still-not-really-gro...

  • Julie Suzanne

    I was caught off guard with this book, and because of the reader I am, I embraced the dissonance. I expected a light, magical, whimsical adventure because I had never heard of the book and picked it b...

  • Julie

    There were some fun magical elements to the book - giant bounce houses, lemonade fountains, and pink hair, to name a few, but the book also had much darker themes. Although the dad's abusive tendencie...

  • Steph

    First of all, this cover is so colorful and magical in itself! I didnÔÇÖt know the premise of this one, but itÔÇÖs very deep. Lots of kids trying to discover that, yes, they are enough just as they ar...

  • Jennifer Hottinger

    Rose is expected to follow in her fatherÔÇÖs footsteps. Magic is his world, but Rose does not hear magic and struggled to collect one jar. Dad is easily angered and Rose so wants to please her father,...