The Heiress: The Revelations of Anne de Bourgh

The Heiress: The Revelations of Anne de Bourgh

In this gorgeously written and spellbinding historical novel based on Pride and Prejudice, the author of The Clergyman’s Wife combines the knowing eye of Jane Austen with the eroticism and Gothic intrigue of Sarah Waters to reimagine the life of the mysterious Anne de Bourgh.

As a fussy baby, Anne de Bourgh’s doctor prescribed laudanum to quiet her, and now the young woman must take the opium-heavy tincture every day. Growing up sheltered and confined, removed from sunshine and fresh air, the pale and overly slender Anne grew up with few companions except her cousins, including Fitzwilliam Darcy. Throughout their childhoods, it was understood that Darcy and Anne would marry and combine their vast estates of Pemberley and Rosings. But Darcy does not love Anne or want her.

After her father dies unexpectedly, leaving her his vast fortune, Anne has a moment of clarity: what if her life of fragility and illness isn’t truly real? What if she could free herself from the medicine that clouds her sharp mind and leaves her body weak and lethargic? Might there be a better life without the medicine she has been told she cannot live without?

In a frenzy of desperation, Anne discards her laudanum and flees to the London home of her cousin, Colonel John Fitzwilliam, who helps her through her painful recovery. Yet once she returns to health, new challenges await. Shy and utterly inexperienced, the wealthy heiress must forge a new identity for herself, learning to navigate a “season” in society and the complexities of love and passion. The once wan, passive Anne gives way to a braver woman with a keen edge—leading to a powerful reckoning with the domineering mother determined to control Anne’s fortune . . . and her life.

An extraordinary tale of one woman’s liberation, The Heiress reveals both the darkness and light in Austen’s world, with wit, sensuality, and a deeply compassionate understanding of the human heart.

Title:The Heiress: The Revelations of Anne de Bourgh
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780063032002
Format Type:

    The Heiress: The Revelations of Anne de Bourgh Reviews

  • Lex Kent

    This was a nice book to start 2021 off with. I’m a big Austen fan so when I heard about this book I was really excited to read it. This is a bit of a spin-off but also a companion book to Pride and ...

  • Ceecee

    Anne de Bourgh is the heiress in question, the daughter of Sir Lewis and Lady Catherine, she will inherit Rosings Park, Kent one of the finest estates in the south of England. She is cousin to Fitzwil...

  • Jennifer

    I’ve lowered this to a 3.4. I solidly liked it, but the stakes just weren’t high enough. I felt that once the main character was out from under the control of her oppressive mother, it almost took...

  • Katie B

    The Heiress features the character, Anne de Bourgh, who appeared in Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. It's been years since I read that book so I wasn't sure if I'd be able to follow along when readi...

  • Jennifer

    Unlike every other Jane Austen spinoff I've attempted, The Heiress neither explores the same themes nor attempts to mimic the writing of the inimitable Austen. It is so, so much the better for it. Mol...

  • DeAnn

    4.5 Pride and Prejudice starsFor fans of “Pride and Prejudice” this one will be a big hit! Featuring a side character from that story, this book puts you perfectly in the setting with characters t...

  • Natalie Jenner

    Molly Greeley's second novel The Heiress shows her to be one of the best young writers working today--the sheer beauty of her prose has few rivals. In reimagining the character of Anne de Bourgh from ...

  • Louise Wilson

    As a fussy baby, Anne de Burghs doctor prescribed laudanum to quiet her, and now the young woman must take the opium - heavy tincture every day. Growing up sheltered and confined, removed from sunshin...

  • Nursebookie

    Pride and Prejudice fans you will devour this amazing story of the illusive Anne, the heiress of Rosings Park Kent, daughter of Sir Lewis and Lady Catherine de Bourgh, and cousin to Fitzwilliam Darcy ...

  • MaryannC. Book Freak

    Based on the classic Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen this novel centers on one of the lesser characters of P&P, Anne De Bourgh that gives a voice and depth to her character.Born heiress to Rosings Pa...