You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here

You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here

AN IRISH TIMES, IRISH INDEPENDENT and SUNDAY INDEPENDENT 'TITLE TO LOOK OUT FOR IN 2020'

Katie, Maeve and Evelyn – friends forever, united by their childhood games and their dreams of escaping the tiny Irish town of Glenbruff.

Outspoken, unpredictable and intoxicating, Evelyn is the undisputed leader of the trio. That is, until the beautiful, bold Pamela Cooney arrives from Dublin and changes Glenbruff forever...

Told from Katie's witty, quirky perspective, Frances Macken's debut beautifully captures life in a small town and the power of yearning for something bigger. Filled with unforgettable characters and crackling dialogue, You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here takes a keen-eyed look at the complexities of female friendship, the corrosive power of jealousy and guilt, and the way that life can quietly erode our dreams unless we're willing to fight for them.

Title:You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here
ISBN:9781786077653
Format Type:

    You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here Reviews

  • Sahil Javed

    Actual rating - 3.5 stars You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here is Frances Macken’s debut novel and follows Katie, Maeve and Evelyn and their friendship in the small town of Glenbruff. Amidst th...

  • Theresa Smith

    I loved this one. It’s everything I especially love in novel: Irish, coming of age, an examination of friendship and the way in which some friendships can be outgrown, being the first in your family...

  • Lolly K Dandeneau

    via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/'Evelyn can give us strength, but she can steal it away from us too when she feels like it.'Katie learns to make her own fun but always under the swa...

  • Lizp

    This is a breathtaking debut novel. I bought it today and could not put it down until I had finished reading it. This is a magnificently written book. On the surface, it’s about three teenage girls ...

  • RoseMary Achey

    A refreshing new book by Frances Macken will be available June 2020. We follow three friends from the age of 10 to their mid-twenties. These three girls live in an extremely small Irish community. The...

  • Sheree | Keeping Up With The Penguins

    You Have To Make Your Own Fun Around Here explores the intricacies and intimacies of intense female friendship against the backdrop of 1990s Ireland. Macken nails the traditional Irish blend of humour...

  • Vonda

    The writing was wonderful, it flowed quickly, the characters are well developed but the story itself failed. It was nothing special that hadn't been written before. A coming of age story that was set ...

  • Jennifer

    For fans of Netflix’s “Derry Girls” and Sally Rooney’s “Normal People.” This is a novel about three friends growing up in a small community in rural Ireland. Following the girls, who have ...

  • Sophie Eddy

    A dark, beautiful and strange story of growing up and how the people we surround ourselves with hold significant power on how we view the world. Quite thought provoking and at times haunting in its re...

  • Kimbofo

    Anyone who has ever grown up in the countryside or a small community knows that you have to make your own fun, which makes the title of Frances Macken’s debut novel spot on.Set in the (presumably fi...