Precious You

Precious You

An obsessive power struggle between an editor and her millennial intern turns dangerous in this debut psychological thriller--for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and You.

Trusting you was my first mistake.

To Katherine, twenty-four-year-old Lily Lunt is a typical "snowflake." Soft, entitled, unflaggingly earnest, the privileged, politically correct millennial will do whatever she can to make it big as a writer, including leveraging her family's connections. She's got it easy. To Lily, Katherine Ross, a career woman in her early forties, is a holdover from another era: clueless, old-fashioned, and perfectly happy to build her success on the backs of her unpaid interns.

When Lily is hired as the new intern at Leadership magazine, where Katherine is editor in chief, her arrival threatens the very foundations of the self-serving little world that Katherine has built. But before long, she finds herself obsessively drawn to Lily, who seems to be a cruel reminder of the beauty and potential Katherine once had, things she senses Lily plans to use against her. Is Katherine simply paranoid, jealous of Lily's youth as she struggles with encroaching middle age? Is Lily just trying to get ahead in the cutthroat world of publishing? Or is there a more sinister motivation at play, fueled by the dark secrets they're both hiding? As their rivalry deepens, a disturbing picture emerges of two women pitted against each other across a toxic generational divide--and who are desperate enough to do anything to come out on top.

As unsettling as it is provocative, Precious You cuts to heart of questions surrounding modern female rivalry, obsession and deceit. Helen Monks Takhar delivers an explosive take on the contemporary workplace and the disparate generations that power it, turning the professional roles women play on their heads in a razor-sharp, revenge-driven thriller for our age.

Title:Precious You
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781984855961
Format Type:

    Precious You Reviews

  • Dita

    I really fought to stick with it. I made it halfway because I used a credit for it on Audible, but you know what's wrong with this book?It's bad....

  • Liz

    I think I'm getting tired of psychological thrillers. I just can’t seem to get excited by any of them lately. Precious You is a generational power struggle between Katherine, a 41 year old editor an...

  • Michelle

    Re-fucking-joice! This book was brilliant! Katherine is a 41 year old Generation-X-er that is the lead editor at Leadership magazine. Recently coming back to work under new owners after a bout of depr...

  • Ceecee

    4-5 starsThere’s a viper in Katherine Ross’ nest - actually that’s not sufficiently deadly. Think cobra, black mamba, a taipan and you have the catastrophic effect that Lily Lunt has on her life...

  • Fran

    "I wanted to show up [at work] looking just-pressed, but edgy and not desperate to fit into the new corporate regime I was facing...in my heart, I knew I hadn't been 'fixed'. The beige cloud was lying...

  • Amanda

    When I read the blurb about this book at first I wasn’t sure, but after the first paragraph I was completely hooked and before I knew it I had finished this amazing story!!Katherine is 41, she is an...

  • Mandy White

    Holy Moly! What did I just read? That was one crazy, crazy thrill ride. I was not sure about this book when I first started it, the writing style threw me a bit. But at about 100 pages in, Precious Yo...

  • Ivana - Diary of Difference

    Wishlist | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest I am extremely happy and excited to be part of the blog tour for Precious You by Helen Monks Takhar. Thank you to the team at HQ - for send...

  • Sarah

    All the stars! This book is unputdownable. I don't know when I last read a psychological thriller this compelling and unpredictable. Precious You is the story of 41-year-old Gen X-er Katherine Ross, a...

  • Brandy

    W.T.F!! Where in the hell do I even begin? To say it bluntly, Precious You, is one of the most beautifully fucked up books I’ve read. Let’s just say if You, Single White Female and Fatal Attractio...