Sugar and Spite

Sugar and Spite

by

, contemporary, 1-2021-releases, 2021-releases, arc, cried-real-tears, genre-fantasy, 2021, favorites, 2021-read, books-read-in-2021, age-children-middle-grade, middle-grade, tears-so-much-of-them, mg-reads, filipino-authored, in-english, middle-grades, diverse-reads, Childrens, Fantasy, Contemporary, Magical Realism, Literature, Animals, Fiction

Can a bully be defeated by a magical love potion?

Jolina can't take Claudine's bullying any longer! The taunts and teasing are too much. Though Jolina knows she's still in training to use her grandfather's arbularyo magic, she sneaks into his potions lab to get her revenge. Jolina brews a batch of gayuma, a powerful love potion.

And it works. The love potion conquers Claudine's hateful nature. In fact, Claudine doesn't just stop bullying Jolina -- now she wants to be Jolina's BFF, and does everything and anything Jolina asks.

But magic comes with a cost, and bad intentions beget bad returns. Controlling another person's ability to love -- or hate -- will certainly have consequences. The magic demands payment, and it is about to come for Jolina in the form of a powerful storm...

Magic and reality mingle in this brilliant new middle-grade novel by Gail D. Villanueva that asks whether it's ever okay to take away someone's free will.

Title:Sugar and Spite
ISBN:9781338630923
Format Type:

    Sugar and Spite Reviews

  • Spencer (Sphynx Reads)

    I received a DRC of this book from Edelweiss+.Yes, a 5-star read because not only was this book good, but it was a much-needed read for me.This book was an utter delight to read! Full of heart and qui...

  • Anniek

    I love how messy kid main characters are allowed to be, this was really great! Perfect for fans of Love Sugar Magic!!...

  • Fanna

    June 23, 2020: I always come running to Asian books, especially when it's magical & middle-grade!!! Also, that cutesy coverrrr....

  • Yna the Mood Reader

    "Dad says that if we keep wanting things other people have, we won't get to enjoy the stuff we do have." 📚 Series? No.📚 Genre? Middle Grade Contemporary & Fantasy.📚 Read for? TBR...

  • Sabrina

    "Magic can't heal everything, can it?""No, it cannot heal everything. Like I said, it's only a temporary fix. True healing must come from within the patient themselves." Content warnings: (view spo...

  • Rebecca

    Well shit, I did not expect that. This book was unapologetically Filipino and I loved everything about it.This is a story about friendship and forgiveness; finding common ground and shared experiences...

  • Hazel (Stay Bookish)

    Another exciting Filipino MG from Gail!!! CAN'T WAIT TO READ!!...

  • Nev

    3.5 - This was a really engaging Middle Grade story dealing with magic, bullies, and friendship set in the Philippines. Jolina is the new girl in town who is fed up with being bullied by Claudine. Jol...

  • Mark Alpheus

    So beautiful. Rtc soon!review at:https://writtenbyal.wordpress.com/202......

  • Ms. Yingling

    E ARC provided by Edelweiss PlusJolina and her family have moved from Manila to the small island of Isla Pag-Ibig. After the death of her Lola Toyang and a stroke suffered by Lolo Sebyo, her father ha...