A Little London Scandal

A Little London Scandal

by

arc, , netgalley-reading-challenge, netgalley, 2020, owned, lgbtq, read-2020, netgalley, lgbtq, british-crime, reviewed, fiction, crime-thriller, 2021, Historical, Fiction, LGBT, Anthologies, Mystery

A compelling and ingeniously plotted story of class and corruption, sex and the Sixties, for fans of A Very English Scandal and The Trial of Christine Keeler

Nik felt the mistake in his bones.
The man in the snakeskin suit reached down towards him and pulled Nik upright by the collar of his coat. Nik didn’t see what happened next but he felt the wall. He cried out and then someone hit him and he closed his eyes and waited for it to be over.

London. 1967.

Nik Christou has been a rent boy since he was 15. He knows the ins and outs of Piccadilly Circus, how to spot a pretty policeman and to interpret a fleeting glance. One summer night his life is turned upside down, first by violence and then by an accusation of murder.

Anna Treadway, fleeing the ghosts of her past, works as a dresser in Soho’s Galaxy theatre. She has learned never to place too much trust in the long arm of the law and, convinced Nik is innocent she determines to find him an alibi.

Merrian Wallis, devoted wife to an MP with a tarnished reputation, just wants proof that her husband couldn’t have been involved.

But how do you recognise the truth when everyone around you is playing a role – and when any spark of scandal is quickly snuffed out by those with power?

As Anna searches for clues amongst a cast of MPs, actors, members of gentlemen’s clubs and a hundred different nightly clients, will anyone be willing to come forward and save Nik from his fate?

Title:A Little London Scandal
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    A Little London Scandal Reviews

  • Nigel

    Briefly - Decent enough read and caught a '60s atmosphere well for me. In fullAs the blurb says - sex and the Sixties. The cover plus that blurb caught my eye and as I was alive then...! A boy is foun...

  • Cathy

    I really enjoyed Miranda Emmerson’s debut novel, Miss Treadway and the Field of Stars. In fact, it was one of the first books I reviewed on this blog. Many of the characters from that book make a r...

  • Rosemary Standeven

    This is a multifaceted and very enjoyable book. If you like a twisting mystery investigated by an amateur sleuth (with policeman side-kick) – it is for you. If you like reading about the interplay b...

  • Kirsty

    I received a free digital copy of this book from the publishers via NetGalley.Watch my video review here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUuWA...This is a historical mystery set in London in the 1960...

  • Olga

    A Little London Scandal is a decent enough and thought provoking read about London in 1960. I didn’t realise it was a sequel and found some references to the past relationships and events a little c...

  • Grace

    Thank you very much to NetGalley for the advance copy of this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it; from the first page, I wanted to know what was next, from meeting the characters - Nik, Anna, Hayes, Merria...

  • Beth Younge

    This book was a bit of a mixed bag for me. I did like what it was doing and thought it had some good moments in this but i just didn't really connect with it overall and the moments where i should hav...

  • Nic

    ⭐️⭐️ 2 slow starsApologies as I can see I am in the minority with this one but I didn’t enjoy this book.I found it very slow going, and there are too many characters early on that it’s not...

  • Denise

    Sex, scandal and murder in 1960s London, the atmosphere of which the book does a great job at capturing. Cleverly plotted and sporting an intriguing cast of characters from all walks of life, this com...

  • Catalina

    Thoroughly enjoyed this: a historical murder mystery with Noir accents that reads like a classic. London in the '60: the death of a "for rent" young boy on the backdrop of homosexuality being illegal....