The Book of V.

The Book of V.

Anna Solomon's kaleidoscopic novel intertwines the lives of a Brooklyn mother in 2016, a senator’s wife in 1970s Washington, D.C., and the Bible’s Queen Esther, whose stories of sex, power and desire overlap and ultimately converge—showing how women’s roles have and have not changed over thousands of years.

Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment, she’s grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others.

Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the king, in the hopes that she will save them all.

Following in the tradition of The Hours and The Red Tent, The Book of V. is a bold and contemporary investigation into the enduring expectations and restraints placed on women’s lives.

Title:The Book of V.
ISBN:9781250257017
Format Type:

    The Book of V. Reviews

  • Elyse  Walters

    Ebook/sync...Audiobook.... narrated by Dara Rosenberg, Eva Kaminsky, and Gabra ZackmanThe story begins in Brooklyn: 2016. Lily is reading a bookabout Esther to her two little daughters......“Close t...

  • Lib

    Unfortunately, this is not at all what I expected. It's me though, because I'm really not a fan of Biblical historical figure retellings with a modern spin. It's a popular technique today, to spin a w...

  • Barbara

    I listened to the Audible production of “The Book of V” by Anna Solomon, narrated by Dara Rosenberg, Eva Kaminsky, and Gabra Zackman. The narrators are brilliant. After I finished the audio, I imm...

  • Nursebookie

    I enjoyed this book about the transcending role of women over three time frames, beginning with Lily from Brooklyn in 2016 as a mother and a second wife; Vivian a wife of an ambitious politician in th...

  • Nicole Chinnici

    The Book of V. is a complex and interesting story that left me with mixed feelings. “She will tell her daughters the truth, Lily thinks. Not yet, but sooner than her mother told her. Not the details...

  • Konstantin

    I read this out of order - not as the chapters were arranged, but rather following each story individually in a linear order - and I'm not yet sure whether that was a mistake (though I lean towards ye...

  • Leslie Lindsay

    Bold, elegant, blisteringly raw and delicately complex reimaginin of the biblical Queen Esther, interwoven with contemporary characters, about being a strong, passionate woman in a male-dominated worl...

  • Robin

    I was very excited about the press this book was getting and couldn't wait to read it! I have to admit, I didn't like it at first. I had some issues with the "Esther" story - it may just be a matter o...

  • Stephanie Tournas

    The story of three women, one of whom is Esther, the Persian Jewish woman chosen to be the wife of Xerxes in ancient stories. The stories intermesh, but I found it unsatisfying for reasons I can't exp...

  • Jill

    “The type of woman you imagine yourself becoming is not exist.”The Book of V. is nothing if not ambitious. The integration of the biblical Esther of ancient Persia story with the stories of Vee—...