The Degenerates

The Degenerates

In the tradition of Girl, Interrupted, this fiery historical novel follows four young women in the early 20th century whose lives intersect when they are locked up by a world that took the poor, the disabled, the marginalized—and institutionalized them for life.

The Massachusetts School for the Feeble-Minded is not a happy place. The young women who are already there certainly don’t think so. Not Maxine, who is doing everything she can to protect her younger sister Rose in an institution where vicious attendants and bullying older girls treat them as the morons, imbeciles, and idiots the doctors have deemed them to be. Not Alice, either, who was left there when her brother couldn’t bring himself to support a sister with a club foot. And not London, who has just been dragged there from the best foster situation she’s ever had, thanks to one unexpected, life altering moment. Each girl is determined to change her fate, no matter what it takes.

Title:The Degenerates
ISBN:9781534419353
Format Type:

    The Degenerates Reviews

  • Sarah Perchikoff

    THIS. BOOK. I knew going in that The Degenerates was going to hurt. Four girls stuck in a “school” in the early 1900s where they’re labeled based on the ways they don’t fit society’s standar...

  • Amy Layton

    This was fantastic, spit-fire, tough and tumble, rough and rumble.  When four teenagers meet at the Massachusetts School for the Feeble-Minded, they find commonalities in the fact that they don't so ...

  • Sacha

    Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this arc, which I received in exchange for an honest review. I’ll post that review upon publication in March.UPDATED on 3/22/20: Four starsWhen historical f...

  • Lost in Book Land

    I feel like I have been flying through books lately. My Goodreads currently-reading shelf is full like always but this time many of them are set as like almost completed (that's the system I have for ...

  • Robin

    J. Albert Mann’s talent is making history come alive in such a personal way that you feel you are the main character living in this time in history. This time Mann lets the reader live through four ...

  • Pamela

    I really enjoyed Mann's earlier work, What Every Girl Should Know, about the life of Margaret Sanger, so I was looking forward to getting my hands on The Degenerates. It didn't disappoint! The author ...

  • Sam

    You can find this review and others on my blog SleepySamReads!Special thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for providing a free copy in exchange for an honest review.This book took my breath away. I...

  • Lany

    I want to call this a "delightful," read because after the abysmal disappointment of the last book I tried to read, this one gave me just about everything that I could have asked for. However, given t...

  • Rachel

    A horrifying and heartbreaking exploration of what life was like for the girls locked up in institutions in the twentieth century in an unforgettable story of friendship, found-family, and survival ag...

  • Beth

    This book could make a case for blindly picking completely random titles on Netgalley. Because that's what I did and man am I impressed with this book.Some of the language seems a tad out of place - "...