My Name is Eva

My Name is Eva

You can pay a terrible price for keeping a promise…

Evelyn Taylor-Clarke sits in her chair at Forest Lawns Care Home in the heart of the English countryside, surrounded by residents with minds not as sharp as hers. It would be easy to dismiss Evelyn as a muddled old woman, but her lipstick is applied perfectly, and her buttons done up correctly. Because Evelyn is a woman with secrets and Evelyn remembers everything. She can never forget the promise she made to the love of her life, to discover the truth about the mission that led to his death, no matter what it cost her…

When Evelyn’s niece Pat opens an old biscuit tin to find a photo of a small girl with a red ball entitled ‘Liese, 1951’ and a passport in another name, she has some questions for her aunt. And Evelyn is transported back to a place in Germany known as ‘The Forbidden Village,’ where a woman who called herself Eva went where no one else dared, amongst shivering prisoners, to find the man who gambled with her husband’s life…

A gripping, haunting and compelling read about love, courage and betrayal set in the war-battered landscape of Germany. Fans of The Letter, The Alice Network and The Nightingale will be hooked.

Readers are hooked on My Name is Eva:

‘Could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading !!…I absolutely loved this book !…I laughed, I cried, I cheered , I sympathized all because of Evelyn…I could so picture the setting and as Evelyn sets out to fool everyone, I thought you go girl !!...I don't want to say anything else but what a fantastic read…My first, not my last book by Suzanne Goldring. I can't recommend this book enough !!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘A phenomenal story of courage, love, murder and all the atrocities that go with war.Eva is an extraordinary character, strong, loyal, smart, funny, loving, and brave.A phenomenal read!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘This may be my new favorite book!!!! I absolutely love the premise of the heroine faking dementia in her retirement home to cover up her knowledge of questionable activities centering around WWII events. The tempo of this novel was perfect--kept me wondering until the very last page!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘Absolutely loved this book and its riveting plot!... The author has successfully penned a debut novel that I would highly recommend without any hesitation. An excellent debut novel from Suzanne Goldring and I look forward to reading more of her work. Historical fiction is my favourite genre to read and this book was every bit as good as some of the well-known WW2-themed titles published in recent years.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘A poignant and evocative story of love, betrayal and bravery that kept me page turning and completely engrossed from start to finish. Loved it and would definitely recommend.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

This book was excellent! Totally kept my attention and I wanted to find out what would become of the main characters. Highly recommended.

Title:My Name is Eva
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    My Name is Eva Reviews

  • Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*

    EXCERPT: 'What I'd like to do this time,' says Inspector Williams on his second visit, is ask you a bit about your time in the forces. I believe you joined up after you lost your husband, when he was ...

  • Karren  Sandercock

    Evelyn Taylor-Clarke is in her 90's, she falls at home and while she's recovering she's staying at Forest Lawns Care Home.Her only relative is her niece Pat, she's helping her Aunt by looking after th...

  • Pauline

    Evelyn is an old lady in a nursing home and her niece Pat is clearing out Evelyn's home so that it can be sold. Pat finds a couple of suitcase with World War Two photographs and other memorabilia and ...

  • Sherri Thacker

    I received this book as a ARC from NetGalley and the publisher for my honest review. My Name is Eva is laugh out loud funny, sad in parts and had me glued to the pages in the beginning but I got lost ...

  • ??Hélène??

    This was a different WWII read for me it was a point of view after the was ended with the fall of Germany in the hands of the Allies. The life story of Evelyn “Eva”. The pathway she went through t...

  • Robin Loves Reading

    My Rating: 4.5 StarsShe had many names. Evelyn Taylor-Clarke. Mrs. T-C to the caring home staff. Aunt Evelyn to her niece Pat, and Eva during her years of service during World War II. All of these nam...

  • Lady Delacour

    Fell in love with Eva.Laughed with Eva.Cried with Eva.Felt with Eva.4 Heart Happy Stars.Listened with TTS.Almost Clean but not.Mild Foul Language....

  • Bev Walkling

    I was drawn to this book initially by the beautiful artwork on the cover which immediately let me know that this was a historical novel with a focus on World War 2. There was also a statement on the c...

  • Mina Vucicevic

    Before I start, I would like to thank NetGalley and Bookouture for providing me with a free copy of My Name is Eva in exchange for an honest review.In all honesty, I didn’t like this novel for sever...

  • Morgan

    I liked Eva at the very beginning when we meet her in 2016 in a Care Home. She is in her 90’s perfectly competent but she is pretending to be verging on dementia. I found it amusing although it is n...