A Zestful Little Murder

A Zestful Little Murder

by

, 2020, 2-5-stars, Mystery, Historical, Fiction

May 1926

Violet and Jack have gone to the country with their friends. They’ve decided to dive into the joys of a country life for the summer. Swimming, fishing with a large dose of napping.

While they’re enjoying the spring, Vi gets pulled into helping to plan and pull off a May Day celebration. She anticipates organizing games and possibly judging scones or flower bouquets. What she doesn’t envision is to stumble over a body and be pulled into the most unexpected of murder investigations.

Book TWENTY in the Violet Carlyle Mysteries. Are you ready for the roaring twenties? You’ll love Vi, her patient husband Jack, her indulgent twin Vic, and their friends. For fans of Carola Dunn, Jacqueline Winspear, Georgette Heyer, and Lee Strauss. A light, cozy mystery with a fun peek into life in the life of a bright young thing. No swearing, graphic scenes, or cliffhangers.

The Violet Carlyle Series

Murder & the Heir
Murder at Kennington House
Murder at the Folly
A Merry Little Murder
New Year’s Madness: A Short Story Anthology
Valentine’s Madness: A Short Story Anthology
Murder Among the Roses
Murder in the Shallows
Gin & Murder
Obsidian Murder
Murder at the Ladies Club
Weddings Vows & Murder
A Jazzy Little Murder
Murder by Chocolate
A Friendly Little Murder
Murder by the Sea
Murder On All Hallows
Murder in the Shadows
A Jolly Little Murder
Christmas Madness: A Short Story Anthology
Hijinks & Murder
Love & Murder
A Zestful Little Murder
Murder Most Odd (coming soon)
Nearly A Murder (coming soon)

Title:A Zestful Little Murder
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    A Zestful Little Murder Reviews

  • Irene Sauman

    This series is up to 27 as I write this. They seem a light little read at first glance but there is a depth to the characters and their interaction which belies first impressions. Love, birth, death, ...

  • Elizdos

    I have read every Violet Carlyle Mystery and I love the series. I love all the characters especially Denny and of course would love my own Jack. My biggest problem is how short these books are getting...

  • Clare

    While I enjoyed the storyline, I found (and have been for the past couple of books) that as they're getting shorter, the character development is suffering. These are more like short stories now, rath...

  • Angela Bray

    Another WinnerI gave the previous installment 5*'s and this story is also a great read. Jack is at loose ends having left Scotland Yard with his best friend and boss Ham. Vi is of course sympathetic s...

  • Lucia C. Smolski

    Murder, yes. Interesting storylineGetting talked into hosting the annual fete at their country home, Vi, Jack and the gang are asked to entertain some very obnoxious friends of Mr Russell, Rita's fath...

  • Doreen

    Unusual!Violet and Jack are hosting village May Day fete and murder intrudes! Murdered man has been hurtful and obnoxious to everyone so there are plenty of suspects. Jack and Ham are no longer associ...

  • Kitten  Peters

    Fantastic I absolutely love the Violet Carlyle mysteries. You must start from the beginning to get to know all the characters. The roaring twenties is at their best for a historical mystery. Jump righ...

  • Mary Jane King

    Unique charactersUse of character's deep values make this band of friends cross the generational class boundaries and make the reader envious of their close and extended family. The sleuthing is a fun...

  • Nancy Wilson

    Ahh Violet and crew are at it again BUT while the victim is vile and deserves to be killed this story seems to end abruptly as though author Byers tired of it. The man is mysteriously killed with what...

  • Sara

    2.5 stars. Not much happens here and some characters get short shrift. Will only entertain those already invested in the characters. Quite a short book. Bonus points for the interaction between Jack a...