Odessa

Odessa

Three siblings search for their missing mother across a ruined America in this original graphic novel perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Neal Shusterman. 

Eight years ago an earthquake—the Big One—hit along the Cascadia fault line, toppling cities and changing landscapes all up and down the west coast of the United States. Life as we know it changed forever. But for Vietnamese-American Virginia Crane, life changed shortly after the earthquake, when her mother left and never came back.

Ginny has gotten used to a life without her mother, helping her father take care of her two younger brothers, Wes and Harry. But when a mysterious package arrives for her eighteenth birthday, her life is shaken up yet again. For the first time, Ginny wants something more than to survive. And it might be a selfish desire, but she's determined to find out what happened to her mother—even if it means leaving her family behind.

Title:Odessa
ISBN:9781620107898
Format Type:

    Odessa Reviews

  • Lauren Lanz

    It’s a shame Odessa wasn’t all that I’d hoped. Hearing that this was a post apocalyptic own-voices novel featuring Vietnamese main characters really peaked my interest.In a world ravaged by the ...

  • Ashleigh (a frolic through fiction)

    *Thank you to the publisher for sending me a review copy through Netgalley. This in no way influences my opinion of the book.Ehhhhh. This graphic novel just didn't do it for me. The premise of a journ...

  • Alexander Peterhans

    Post-apocalyptic fiction is all the rage in these mid-apocalyptic days, at least Odessa's apocalypse is something different to your usual fare - the west of the US has been devastated by earthquakes (...

  • Bandita

    This book is set in a dystopian world where an earthquake destroyed almost everything. This is the story of Ginny who lives with her father and two younger brothers. On her birthday she receives a gif...

  • -??clara??-

    Wow! This one was pleasantly surprising. I'm happy that I was able to get my hands on this graphic novel, especially since it turned out to be a very promising first volume.My first impressions, of co...

  • destiny ??? [howling libraries]

    DNF @ 50%I feel bad DNFing this because I usually try not to DNF graphic novels, especially when they're review copies... but this just wasn't doing anything for me and since I'm already clawing my wa...

  • Quirkyreader

    I received this as an ARC from Oni Press. Thank you.This was a very thought provoking story. I am looking forward to the next part.I will say this. I kept thinking of “The Grave of The Fireflies” ...

  • Jessica Haider

    Set at an unknown time in the near future, Odessa tells of an American West Coast that has been left devastated by a massive earthquake. Many people died in the quakes and many more died in the danger...

  •  *:??? Isabelle (on hiatus)

    3.25 stars I feel conflicted :/ On one hand, Odessa is a very heart-warming graphic novel about a sister and her two younger brothers on a journey to find their mom. On the other hand, Odessa wasn’t...

  • Geoff

    Post-apocalyptic stories are far from my favorite, and it takes a lot for something in that genre to wow me. While Odessa was a good story, it wasn't a great one. The pink and black art was interestin...