The Bad Muslim Discount

The Bad Muslim Discount

Following two families from Pakistan and Iraq in the 1990s to San Francisco in 2016, Bad Muslim Discount is a hilarious, timely, and provocative comic novel about being Muslim immigrants in modern America. For fans of Hanif Kureshi, Mira Jacob, and Mohammed Hanif.

It is 1995, and Anvar Faris is a restless, rebellious, and sharp-tongued boy doing his best to grow up in Karachi, Pakistan. As fundamentalists in the government become increasingly strident and the zealots next door start roaming the streets in gangs to help make Islam great again, his family decides, not quite unanimously, to start life over in California. The irony is not lost on Anvar that in America, his deeply devout mother and his model-Muslim brother are the ones who fit right in with the tightly knit and gossipy Desi community. Anvar wants more.

At the same time, thousands of miles away, Safwa, a young girl suffocating in war-torn Baghdad with her grief-stricken, conservative father will find a very different and far more dangerous path to America. These two narratives are intrinsically linked, and when their worlds come together, the fates of two remarkably different people intertwine and set off a series of events that rock their whole community to its core.

The Bad Muslim Discount is an irreverent, dramatic, and often hysterically funny debut novel by an amazing new voice. With deep insight, warmth, and an irreverent sense of humor, Syed Masood examines quirky and intense familial relationships, arranged marriage, Islamic identity, and how to live together in modern America.

Title:The Bad Muslim Discount
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    The Bad Muslim Discount Reviews

  • On the Same Page

    ARC provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I've been thinking about how to write this review since I finished the book, and even though I've started typing I stil...

  • Lisa

    The Bad Muslim Discount is more substantial than its cover suggests. With insight and dry humor, Masood tracks the immigrant experience through the eyes of Anvar, who moved to California from Pakistan...

  • Jite

    First 5-star read of the year and I’m absolutely wowed! First off, I must confess that this book wasn’t what I expected. Yes, it had the dry wit and irreverent humour I anticipated given the cover...

  • Aimal (Bookshelves & Paperbacks)

    Starting to realize that every OwnVoices Muslim book I connect with will be shredded apart by more ~pious~ Muslims who think it’s bad rep. All I say is that one POV character in this book is someone...

  • Kay

    2.5 ⭐ I went into this blind. There were more politics than I care for.Two Muslims, one from Iraq and another from Pakistan came to America under different circumstances. I enjoy reading about diffe...

  • Katie Mac

    I received an eARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Admittedly, I was one of the many readers who went into this expecting something more light and humorous. This assumptio...

  • Fanna

    April 6, 2020: Pakistani (ownvoices) & Iraqi immigrant, and Muslim representation (!!!) in a diverse desi community of those who left the Indian subcontinent. This is promising to be romantic, politic...

  • Larry H

    The Bad Muslim Discount , the new novel by Syed M. Masood, is a funny, emotionally searing, and thought-provoking look at the experience of Muslim immigrants in the U.S.“There is no true measure ...

  • Dianne

    I will start by saying that I am not a Muslim, a Pakistani, or an Iraqi; I found this to be a challenging read because of that. This may also be a better book for those who aren't Republicans! I found...

  • Jessica Moore

    Thank you NetGalley, Doubleday Books, and Syed M. Masood for the opportunity to review this book! I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced reader's copy of this book in exchange for an honest revie...