I Will Judge You by Your Bookshelf

I Will Judge You by Your Bookshelf

A look at the culture and fanaticism of book lovers, from beloved New York Times illustrator Grant Snider
 
It’s no secret, but we are judged by our bookshelves. We learn to read at an early age, and as we grow older we shed our beloved books for new ones. But some of us surround ourselves with books. We collect them, decorate with them, are inspired by them, and treat our books as sacred objects. In this lighthearted collection of one- and two-page comics, writer-artist Grant Snider explores bookishness in all its forms, and the love of writing and reading, building on the beloved literary comics featured on his website, Incidental Comics. With a striking package including a die-cut cover, I Will Judge You By Your Bookshelf is the perfect gift for bookworms of all ages.
 

Title:I Will Judge You by Your Bookshelf
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781419737114
Format Type:

    I Will Judge You by Your Bookshelf Reviews

  • Carmen

    Comics about books. Loving reading. It's okay.I've said it before and I'll say it again: I don't really care for books that celebrate reading. I prefer actual reading. Reading actual books. Books that...

  • Jenny Lawson

    So funny. So true....

  • Richard Derus

    The Publisher Says: A look at the culture and fanaticism of book lovers, from beloved New York Times illustrator Grant Snider It’s no secret, but we are judged by our bookshelves. We learn to read a...

  • Lori

    I seem to be an outlier. This book of cartoons seemed like it would be funny but ended up disappointing and boring me. The author is an illustrator for the New York Times and, if he's the one responsi...

  • Lisa

    What a great title! I downloaded this from Hoopla and spent a couple mildly pleasurable hours with it. I have the same problem with this book as with other collections of cartoons - overload. There we...

  • Reading_ Tam_ Ishly

    A cure for reading slumps.How can I not possibly like this collection?!Let's say things are not new here and that everything in this book has been already illustrated or as is written everywhere, try ...

  • Sam Quixote

    Grant Snider’s I Will Judge You By Your Bookshelf is another collection of newspaper strips with a bookish flavour, in the vein of Debbie Tung’s Book Love and Tom Gauld’s strips - except it’s ...

  • rachel ?

    surprisingly pretentious ...

  • Dave Schaafsma

    I thought Grant Snider's book about creativity, The Shape of Ideas, was pretty good, just okay. I do like his simple, cute art style, that I find inviting and warm. I read this book because it was one...

  • Blob Fest!

    1.5 StarsI Will Judge You by Your Bookshelf is a standalone Graphic Novel, I read it cause it sounded cool, which I was wrong, cause I didn't like it. The plot well, I don't really know what the plot ...