Spellbreaker

Spellbreaker

A world of enchanted injustice needs a disenchanting woman in the newest fantasy series by the Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Paper Magician.

The orphaned Elsie Camden learned as a girl that there were two kinds of wizards in the world: those who pay for the power to cast spells and those, like her, born with the ability to break them. But as an unlicensed magic user, her gift is a crime. Commissioned by an underground group known as the Cowls, Elsie uses her spellbreaking to push back against the aristocrats and help the common man. She always did love the tale of Robin Hood.

Elite magic user Bacchus Kelsey is one elusive spell away from his mastership when he catches Elsie breaking an enchantment. To protect her secret, Elsie strikes a bargain. She’ll help Bacchus fix unruly spells around his estate if he doesn’t turn her in. Working together, Elsie’s trust in—and fondness for—the handsome stranger grows. So does her trepidation about the rise in the murders of wizards and the theft of the spellbooks their bodies leave behind.

For a rogue spellbreaker like Elsie, there’s so much to learn about her powers, her family, the intriguing Bacchus, and the untold dangers shadowing every step of a journey she’s destined to complete. But will she uncover the mystery before it’s too late to save everything she loves?

Title:Spellbreaker
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Spellbreaker Reviews

  • Charlie Holmberg

    In a world where magic is owned by the rich and spellbooks spawn from wizards’ corpses, one woman has the power to unravel it all . . . if she doesn’t get caught.If you love Victorian stories, mag...

  • Cathy

    Fans of Charlie Holmberg will absolutely love this. It felt very similar to Paper Magician while being something entirely unique. I could not put it down. (Except when I had to take care of my childre...

  • Dave

    In the first of a two-book series, Holmberg introduces us to a young spellbreaker as distinguished from a spellmaker. If you are looking for gritty, rough-edged realistic fantasy, this is probably not...

  • Amanda

    Thanks so much to the author for sending me an advance copy of Spellbreaker! Charlie has been a favorite author since I read her Paper Magician series. What I loved about that series is her ability to...

  • Dana

    How do I love Charlie N Holmberg’s writing… let me count the ways. Each one of her stories has a strong female lead who has such impeccable morals and a practical head on her shoulders. They are s...

  • Kari

    A truly remarkable book. I would go as far as to say this is Charlie's next "Paper Magician" series and one fans, myself included, will want more from for years to come.Ellie is a unregistered Spellbr...

  • Richard

    Very very good.First of all , as my headline says...this was a very well written story. It kept me guessing the entire time. Even close to the end, I was wrong on several fronts.Magic is not my favori...

  • Babel

    Cozy mystery, magic spells, and quirky romance. Oh, my. This is perfect for fans of The Paper Magician. I am one of them, of course :-D With an atmosphere touched by Jane Austen, this Victorian myster...

  • Eloise Smith

    I have very mixed feelings now I've finished Spellbreaker. Having seen this come up as a choice on October's Amazon First Reads, it sounded right up my street. Elsie is a illegal spellbreaker, she kno...

  • Corinne Edwards

    4.5 out of 5As a child, Elsie lost everything familiar and familial and was saved by an organization, the Cowls, that needed what she could do: undo the spells that spellcasters performed. Not just an...