Out of the Embers

Out of the Embers

Ten years after her parents were killed, Evelyn Radcliffe is once more homeless. The orphanage that was her refuge and later her workplace has burned to the ground, and only she and a young orphan girl have escaped. Convinced this must be related to her parents' murders, Evelyn flees with the girl to Mesquite Springs in the Texas Hill Country and finds refuge in the home of Wyatt Clark, a talented horse rancher whose plans don't include a family of his own.

At first, Evelyn is a distraction. But when it becomes clear that trouble has followed her to Mesquite Springs, she becomes a full-blown disruption. Can Wyatt keep her safe from the man who wants her dead? And will his own plans become collateral damage?

Suspenseful and sweetly romantic, Out of the Embers is the first in a new series that invites you to the Texas Hill Country in the 1850s, when the West was wild, the men were noble, and the women were strong.

Title:Out of the Embers
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780800735357
Format Type:

    Out of the Embers Reviews

  • Staci

    Nice start to a new series set in the Texas Hill Country. Evelyn survived following the murder of her parents ten years prior. She has a wonderful heart and yearns to find something meaningful to do a...

  • Karen R

    A good clean historical romance set in the 1850's among the bluebonnet covered hills of Texas. Fans of Tracie Peterson and Maggie Brendan will likely enjoy this fresh start to a new series. It has the...

  • Christine

    I've been wanting to read a book by Amanda Cabot for awhile now because they all seem to have stellar reviews! So, when I had the opportunity to get a copy of Out of the Embers, I was really hoping I'...

  • Jypsy

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell and was under no obligation to post a review. Out Of The Embers Mesquite Springs Book OneBy: Amanda CabotREVIEW ☆☆☆☆Out Of The Embers i...

  • Loraine

    This first book in Cabot's debut series Mesquite Springs was enjoyable from start to finish. It is set in the Hill country of Texas on a horse ranch in the fictional town of Mesquite Springs. Evelyn R...

  • Linda Klager

    I thought the name of the book was so appropriate. Evelyn and Polly's life was saved from flames (or embers) when the orphanage where they were living burned down.I was very much attracted to the book...

  • Maureen Timerman

    This story quickly became a page turner, we are shown characters with so much hate, greed, and total disregard for human life. Also we are give a character, Evelyn Radcliff, who takes a little orphan ...

  • Amanda Tero

    This was my first time to try Amanda Cabot. It was clean. It was sweet. It was western. And it had a hint of mystery. Thinking back over the book as a whole, I really can't say what the spiritual plot...

  • Patricia Bradley

    Have you ever read a book that weeks later, you're still thinking about? Well, that's the way I feel about Amanda Cabot's Out of the Embers. Cabot does such a good job of setting you in the Hill Count...

  • Madison

    Out of the Embers is a charming historical Christian romance. Despite the historical setting, it’s quite modern from the female-empowerment positive messages and the independence of our female main ...