The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls

The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls

From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans.

In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus arrives on Nordstrand in Germany, to the delight of the island’s people. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children.

Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, just a girl herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret’s Home for Pregnant Girls. After the tragedy, Lotte’s husband escapes with the Zirkus, while she loses the will to care for their surviving son. Tilli steps in, bonding with him in a way she isn’t allowed to with her own baby, taken away at birth. Sabine, struggling to keep her childlike daughter safe in the world, forms a complicated friendship with Lotte. But the mothers' fragile trio is threatened when Lotte and her husband hatch a dangerous plan to reunite their family, and Tilli and Sabine must try to find a way to pull them back to reality.

As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shining testament to the ways in which women hold each other up in the most unexpected of circumstances.

Title:The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls
ISBN:9781250156822
Format Type:

    The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls Reviews

  • Diane S ?

    3.5-My first introduction to the writing of this author, and I have to admit I wasn't immediately drawn into this novel. The writing was gorgeous, the descriptions like a poem, but it has a very diffe...

  • Toni

    This is one of the most unusual books I have read this year. Set on one of the Frisian islands in 1878 against the backdrop of the severe beauty of the North Sea, this beautifully-written book is full...

  • Elyse  Walters

    Wasps, bees, ponies, spider heads, ......”it’s nature”! Church clothes, Sunday after mass....he will bring the fish ....he will claim them all as their daughters - a wedding will be planned for ...

  • Aisling

    Hmmm. A brilliant writer and brilliant writing but the book still falls down... maybe under the weight of the grief. No, not really. Although this book deals with some devastating stories ( an 11 year...

  • KarenK

    I received this from Netgalley.com for a review. Mid 1800s, Germany. Four different women are loosely connected by the setting and the terrible accident that happens right at the beginning of the book...

  • Penny (Literary Hoarders)

    A very beautiful, almost fairy tale like story. Overall it's a story about girls, women and old women and how they intersect. It took me a little bit to get into the groove with Hegi's style of writin...

  • Nancy

    I read Stones from the River many years ago, so when I had the chance to read this one, before release, I jumped at the chance! Hegi has a way of making the extraordinary seem more ordinary and vice v...

  • Brittany

    I read 25% and I couldn’t finish this book... the premise was so interesting and I was excited to read it but man, I just couldn’t do the writing style. It was confusing and jumpy and I had the ha...

  • Danielle Urban

    The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls reads like a good story. However, every chapter jumps from one point to another in a way that loses me. I am lost due to the scenes not connecting. I cannot connect ...

  • Darla

    The cover is gorgeous, but not a big fan of the story inside. There were bits I really loved, others not so much. I can say that my husband can bring home a zebra for me anytime. Lotte was a difficult...