The Black Kids

The Black Kids

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Title:The Black Kids
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    The Black Kids Reviews

  • myo 🍒 (myonna reads)

    “sometimes people, they see your skin, and all they know of you is war”i try not to read books anyone with books with police brutality because i’d like to see more black joy in books and i think...

  • megs_bookrack

    The year is 1992. Ashley Bennett is a Senior in high school, living in a posh L.A. neighborhood with her parents.In addition to their fancy neighborhood, Ashley also attends a private school. You coul...

  • Irena BookDustMagic

    Let me start this review with a say that I don't feel capable to give The Black Kids proper, critical review as I am a white girl living in a country with mostly white people, and the only Black man I...

  • sarah xoxo

    "We have to walk around being perfect all the time just to be seen as human. Don’t you ever get tired of being a symbol? Don't you ever just want to be human"The Black Kids is a coming of age story ...

  • Ashleigh (a frolic through fiction)

    I was sent a copy of this book via Netgalley to review. This in no way influences my opinion of the book.Oof this book packs a punch. In the span of these pages, this book not only tackles subjects su...

  • Sara

    ARC received in exchange for an honest review.‘We have to walk around being perfect all the time just to be seen as human. Don’t you ever get tired of being a symbol?’Set against the backdrop of...

  • Warda

    Received a review copy on Netgalley. Thank you to Simon and Shuster’s UK for this early read....

  • Corina

    As it happens so often lately, this book was eye-opening. Also saddening, as well as a real wake up call. But most of all a reminder of how much there is still to do.And although the book started a bi...

  • Sara

    I'm so glad I picked this up. Set in 1992 Los Angeles during the riots following the Rodney King trial, this story is poignant and brings to light important societal issues in an accessible way. This ...

  • Emily

    The Black Kids is a journey to read. I really liked the idea of it, and I'm glad that I read it, but I struggled to connect with the main character, and a lot of the characters around her. I loved LaS...