Two Trees Make a Forest: Travels Among Taiwan's Mountains & Coasts in Search of My Family's Past

Two Trees Make a Forest: Travels Among Taiwan's Mountains & Coasts in Search of My Family's Past

by

bingo, , can-con, travel-books, 2020-favs, nf-2021, fall-2020, library-loan, non-fiction, beautiful-writing, 5000-2021, beautifully-written, non-fiction, taiwan-and-diaspora, non-american, awards, zhongguo, canadian-author, 2021-reads, nature-and-wildlife, Nonfiction, Autobiography, Environment, Travel, Cultural, History, Biography, Audiobook

Combining an immersive exploration of nature with captivatingly beautiful prose, Jessica J. Lee embarks on a journey to discover her family's forgotten history and to connect with the island they once called home

Taiwan is an island of extremes: towering mountains, lush forests, and barren escarpment. Between shifting tectonic plates and a history rife with tension, the geographical and political landscape is forever evolving. After unearthing a hidden memoir of her grandfather's life, Jessica J. Lee seeks to piece together the fragments of her family's history as they moved from China to Taiwan, and then on to Canada. But as she navigates the tumultuous terrain of Taiwan, Lee finds herself having to traverse fissures in language, memory, and history, as she searches for the pieces of her family left behind.

Interlacing a personal narrative with Taiwan's history and terrain, Two Trees Make a Forest is an intimate examination of the human relationship with geography and nature, and offers an exploration of one woman's search for history and belonging amidst an ever-shifting landscape.

Title:Two Trees Make a Forest: Travels Among Taiwan's Mountains & Coasts in Search of My Family's Past
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780735239579
Format Type:

    Two Trees Make a Forest: Travels Among Taiwan's Mountains & Coasts in Search of My Family's Past Reviews

  • Allison ?hikes the bookwoods?

    Boring. So boring. I’m a bit of a family historian and enjoy researching my family tree and piecing together a narrative about my ancestors lives, so I can understand what Lee is trying to accomplis...

  • Krista

    The trees are so tall I can hardly see their branches, their green foliage hanging in flat sprays that droop ever so slightly near their crowns, the way shaggy hair might drape around one’s neck....

  • Rebecca

    (3.5) I loved Turning, Lee’s 2017 memoir about swimming in one of Berlin’s lakes per week for a year, so I jumped at the chance to read her follow-up, which delves into her maternal line’s histo...

  • Emmeline

    It's been a particular pleasure in recent years to read so many books written by fellow children-now-adults of the diaspora (specifically: Taiwan); I imagine many of us wish we had such books previous...

  • David

    It's another in a growing work of literary nature writing that I find I'm a sucker for. From The Overstory to Greenwood it's the personal entwined with the natural world and Lee, as an environmental h...

  • fatma

    Jessica J. Lee is such a beautiful writer, and Two Trees Make a Forest is such a gentle book. I'm not typically one for nature writing; I have a hard time visualizing descriptions of the natural world...

  • Diane S ?

    3.5 Thoughts soon....

  • Hayden

    It makes me sad to see how many people think this memoir is boring. I understand where they are coming from, and maybe if I had read this book instead of listened to it, I may have had a harder time g...

  • Catapult

    Two Trees Make a Forest is an exhilarating, anti-colonial reclamation of nature writing and memoir perfect for fans of Margaret Renkl's Late Migrations and William Finnegan's Barbarian Days. It is an ...

  • Kathleen

    "... our fleeting human worlds are so easily swallowed up by nature, our fate fastened to its course. What we believe to be culture is only ever a fragment of natural world that we have sectioned off,...