The Jetsetters

The Jetsetters

by

, netgalley, reese-witherspoon-bookclub, 2020, owned-read-unhauled, read-in-march-20, bad-book-no-treat-for-you, pbs-wishlist, beach-read, audio-books, fiction, 2019, audiobook, audiobook, italy, Fiction, Contemporary, Womens Fiction, Audiobook, Romance, Travel, Adult, Family, Adult Fiction, Novels

When seventy-year-old Charlotte Perkins submits a sexy essay to the "Become a Jetsetter" contest, she dreams of reuniting her estranged children: Lee, an almost-famous actress; Cord, a handsome Manhattan venture capitalist who can't seem to find a bride; and Regan, a harried mother who took it all wrong when Charlotte bought her a Weight Watchers gift certificate for her birthday.

Charlotte yearns for the years when her children were young and she was a single mother who meant everything to them. When she wins the cruise, the family packs all their baggage—literal and figurative—and spends ten days traveling from sun-drenched Athens through glorious Rome to tapas-laden Barcelona on an over-the-top cruise ship, the Splendido Marveloso.

As lovers new and old join the adventure, long-buried secrets are revealed, and the Perkins family is forced to confront the defining choices in their lives. Can four lost adults find the peace they've been seeking by reconciling their childhood aches and coming back to each other?

In the vein of The Nest and The Vacationers, Ward has created a delicious and intelligent novel about the courage it takes to reveal our true selves, the pleasures and perils of family, and how we navigate the seas of adulthood to cruise—we can only hope—toward joy.

Title:The Jetsetters
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780399181894
Format Type:

    The Jetsetters Reviews

  • Nilufer Ozmekik

    I don’t like it but I didn’t hate it, too. I’m Switzerland right now. It’s okay reading but not the marvelous book I’ve dreamt of so it means three let’s have a vacation with one of the dy...

  • Kim ~ It?s All About the Thrill

    I expected soooo much more 🤷‍♀️ Not the fun light hearted beach read that I had anticipated . Charlotte is 71 and is ready to have some fun! Her children have left home, her husband has passe...

  • Chantelle

    For being the Reese Witherspoon book of the month, it was pretty terrible. The writing was stilted, like a child wrote it. The narrator was not good either. There wasn’t really a resolution for most...

  • Brandice

    In The Jetsetters Charlotte Perkins, a 72-year old Savannah widow, enters a contest to win a Mediterranean cruise. She does win and convinces her three adult children, Lee, Cord, and Reagan to join he...

  • Danielle

    A mother, her three adult kids, a cruise ship… each character has their own ‘problem’ that they don’t want to burden their family with. 🤔 I wanted to care more, but this whole story just fe...

  • Meghan

    There were so many deep issues in this book that made the story interesting but I felt it was way too breezy/easy summer type read for the heaviness. I think the characters and readers deserved more l...

  • Kortney

    I HATE not finishing books, but this book was awful and I couldn’t waste my time any longer. Weirdly sexual at times (from the mother character??- didn’t enjoy lol) very choppy, no plot, seemed ch...

  • Laura ? lauralovestoread

    3.75 ★So I’ve mentioned before that I’m always drawn to stories with family dynamics that include complicated sibling relationships and strained relationships with parents. So that’s honestly ...

  • Nicole

    The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward is March’s book pick for Reese Witherspoon’s book club.⁣⁣This book is about a woman named Charlotte who has 3 grown children. She enters a contest to win a M...

  • Melissa (LifeFullyBooked)

    Not sure how to rate this book, some parts are a 2, some are a 3, so I guess I'm rounding down from a 2.5Overall it is super uneven, the pacing is strange--drags in some parts and then the ending is v...