The Body in the Mist

The Body in the Mist

A brutal murder hints at a terrifying mystery, and this time it’s personal.

A body is found on a quiet lane in Exmoor, victim of a hit and run. He has no ID, no wallet, no phone, and – after being dragged along the road – no recognisable face.

Meanwhile, fresh from his last case, DCI Craig Gillard is unexpectedly called away to Devon on family business.

Gillard is soon embroiled when the car in question is traced to his aunt. As he delves deeper, a dark mystery reveals itself, haunted by family secrets, with repercussions Gillard could never have imagined.  

The past has never been deadlier.

From master storyteller Nick Louth comes the third installment in the DCI Craig Gillard series. Compelling, fast-paced and endlessly enjoyable, The Body in the Mist is a triumph, perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Angela Marsons and Faith Martin

What readers are saying about Nick Louth

‘An unputdownable, heart-thudder of a read’ Carol Wyer, author of Little Girl Lost

‘This was up there with the best thrillers I have ever read.’

‘Had me hooked from the start! I would definitely recommend this book.’

‘It grips you from the first page to the last. Excellent.’

Title:The Body in the Mist
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    The Body in the Mist Reviews

  • Paromjit

    This is my first read of Nick Louth's DCI Craig Gillard of the Surrey Police series, it is the third addition, and is mostly set in and around Barnstaple and Exmoor National Park in Devon. Gillard has...

  • The Cats? Mother

    The Body in the Mist is the third in the DCI Craig Gillard series about a hard-working detective based in Surrey, England. I had already read and enjoyed the first two, and have an ARC of the next one...

  • Lou

    The Body in the Mist is the third novel in the DCI Craig Gillard series, and although not my favourite so far, it is still a solid and thoroughly entertaining thriller. Each instalment reads perfectly...

  • Pat

    While I really enjoyed the first two books in this series, this story was underwhelming.But the good news is - that's the end of books I read in July. We're now up to August and things start to improv...

  • Denise

    "...very few people are all good or all bad. That combination is what makes us human."DCI Craig Gillard is about to find out just how messed up his family really is when he and his wife, Sam, visit hi...

  • Elaine Tomasso

    I would like to thank Netgalley and Canelo for an advance copy of The Body in the Mist, the third novel to feature DCI Craig Gillard of Surrey Police.DI Jan Talantire of the Devon and Cornwall police ...

  • Andi

    I struggled with this one after reading the previous book in a day, this took nearly a week.It was a bit 'Midsomer Murders' for me. Tongue in cheek with rather too much dialogue and angst. Thanks to N...

  • Jane Hunt

    There is a very dark start to this crime thriller, a body is found on a road in Exmoor, seemingly the victim of a hit and run, but the injuries make identification tortuous. DCI Gillard finds that a f...

  • Carole Gourlay

    I just loved this book, especially with Craig’s dysfunctional family, I thought auntie Barbara was just hilarious, although she did have a dark side too. She reminded me of a lot of Devonians (as I ...

  • J Fearnley

    This is becoming a pretty good series. Whilst The Body in the Mist can be read as a stand-alone book quite easily it is actually the 3rd in the DCI Craig Gillard Series by Nick Louth. What a story!Cra...