Our Wayward Fate

Our Wayward Fate

Seventeen-year-old Ali Chu knows that as the only Asian person at her school in middle-of-nowhere Indiana, she must be bland as white toast to survive. This means swapping her congee lunch for PB&Js, ignoring the clueless racism from her classmates and teachers, and keeping her mouth shut when people wrongly call her Allie instead of her actual name, Ah-lee, after the mountain in Taiwan.

Her autopilot existence is disrupted when she finds out that Chase Yu, the new kid in school, is also Taiwanese. Despite some initial resistance due to the they belong together whispers, Ali and Chase soon spark a chemistry rooted in competitive martial arts, joking in two languages, and, most importantly, pushing back against the discrimination they face.

But when Ali’s mom finds out about the relationship, she forces Ali to end it. As Ali covertly digs into the why behind her mother’s disapproval, she uncovers secrets about her family and Chase that force her to question everything she thought she knew about life, love, and her unknowable future.

Title:Our Wayward Fate
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781534427617
Format Type:

    Our Wayward Fate Reviews

  • C.G. Drews

    This book is what happens when you wrap up deep secrets, messy families and immigrant culture and shove it in a locked safe and then throw away the key and tell Ali not to touch it. She will OPEN it. ...

  • Gloria Chao

    I wrote Our Wayward Fate to explore:-what it's like to grow up as a teen POC in a mostly white Midwestern town-stereotypes and racism-miscommunication between parents and children, especially childre...

  • Rachel Solomon

    WOW. I adored AMERICAN PANDA, and while this sophomore novel has Gloria Chao's signature incisive, humorous voice, it's a much darker, more intense book. The prose is at turns stunning and visceral, a...

  • Yna the Mood Reader

    Read as an audiobook.­čôÜ Series: ┬áNo.­čôÜ Genre: YA Contemporary.­čôÜ Cliffhanger: No.ÔÜá Content Warnings: ┬áParent-Child Conflict. Embezzlement / Scamming. Racism. Asian stereotyping.Having read...

  • Nenia ?? Socially Awkward Trash Panda ?? Campbell

    Gloria Chao has a new book out?!?!How did I miss that? I loved AMERICAN PANDA. I bet this will be just as good. ^_^...

  • Romie

    this was cute, but the pacing was off, jumping from one scene to another too quickly. sometimes I couldn't tell how much time had passed. but as I said, it was cute, so if you need something quick to ...

  • may ?

    the n*ah c*ntineo quote notwithstanding, i really enjoyed this book but idk how to put my thoughts into words aaaaaaaaaaaaso i think that gloria chao is able to write the struggles that come with bein...

  • USOM

    (Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.) Our Wayward Fate is perfect for fans of Frankly in Love and Picture Us in the Light...

  • CW (The Quiet Pond) ?

    Wow. This book packs an emotional punch; a fantastic, candid, but ultimately hopeful story about being who you are in a place that wants you to hide who you are, complex family relationships, and taki...

  • Dani ?? Perspective of a Writer

    Check out more reviews @ Perspective of a Writer...The BuzzAmerican Panda was one of my top books of 2018 (its a really strong debut) so when I saw Gloria Chao had a new book out I knew I wanted to re...