Your House Will Pay

Your House Will Pay

A powerful and taut novel about racial tensions in LA, following two families—one Korean-American, one African-American—grappling with the effects of a decades-old crime

In the wake of the police shooting of a black teenager, Los Angeles is as tense as it’s been since the unrest of the early 1990s. Protests and vigils are being staged all over the city. It’s in this dangerous tinderbox that two families must finally confront their pasts.

Grace Park lives a sheltered existence: living at home with her Korean-immigrant parents, working at the family pharmacy, and trying her best to understand why her sister Miriam hasn’t spoken to their mother in years. The chasm in her family is growing wider by the day and Grace is desperate for reconciliation, and frustrated by the feeling that her sister and parents are shielding her from the true cause of the falling out.

Shawn Matthews is dealing with a fractured family of his own. His sister, Ava, was murdered as a teenager back in 1991, and this new shooting is bringing up painful memories. Plus, his cousin Ray is just released from prison and needs to reconnect with their family after so many years away. While Shawn is trying his best to keep his demons at bay, he’s not sure Ray can do the same.

When another shocking crime hits LA, the Parks and the Matthewses collide in ways they never could have expected. After decades of loss, violence, and injustice, tensions come to a head and force a reckoning that could clear the air or lead to more violence.

Title:Your House Will Pay
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780062868855
Format Type:

    Your House Will Pay Reviews

  • Steph

    I've been working on this book since the end of 2014, and while I get maybe one more shot at sifting for typos, I think I can finally say it's done. It's a bit of a departure from my P.I. series, a li...

  • karen

    NOW AVAILABLE!!!when i heard about this book, the first thing i thought (after "what a fantastic title that is!") was that it would be a readalike for All Involved, which was a sharp and gritty piece ...

  • Bkwmlee

    4.5 starsIt’s not often that a book I read impacted me so much that I was rendered virtually speechless immediately afterwards — to the point that despite having finished this book several days ag...

  • Thomas

    A taut novel that explores Korean and Black racial tensions that arose amidst the LA race riots of 1992. Steph Cha fictionalizes a real-life event: in 1991, Soon Ja Du, a Korean female convenience sto...

  • Ceecee

    This story is set in Los Angeles and is about two worlds colliding - one Korean-American family and one African-American. It is based on a true story of the shooting of Latasha Harlins in 1991 by a co...

  • Collin

    This book is shortlisted for the 2020 TOB.Yvonne Park, an elderly Korean woman is shot while closing her store just after seven o’clock in the evening. However, Yvonne Park is not the name she was b...

  • Jessica Woodbury

    This is an ambitious book. It's trying to tell a very specific story, tied deeply to a particular place and time, exploring the repercussions of an often-forgotten set of racial tension between Black ...

  • Carol

    ***3.5 Stars*** A potent story based on an actual event during the 1992 LA race riots when a black, teenage girl was shot and killed by a Korean shop owner. This fictional novel moves between that tim...

  • Rincey

    One of those books that feels TOO REAL to my own lifeWatch my full review: https://youtu.be/1v6Nty6QCfY...

  • Meike

    "Two households, both alike in dignity(In fair Los Angeles, where we lay our scene),From ancient grudge break to new mutiny, Where civil blood makes civil hands unclean."This tragedy of Shakespearean ...