Your House Will Pay

Your House Will Pay

by

, mystery-and-crime, thank-you-bea-or-ala, fiction, adult-fiction, historical, mystery-crime, korea, crime-mystery, july-2020-reads, favorites, racial-issues, california, best-of-2020, mystery-crime-fict-etc, 2019, 2021-alphabet-challenge, netgalley, Fiction, Mystery, Historical, Contemporary, Race, Thriller, Literary Fiction, Audiobook

A powerful and taut novel about racial tensions in LA, following two families—one Korean-American, one African-American—grappling with the effects of a decades-old crime

In the wake of the police shooting of a black teenager, Los Angeles is as tense as it’s been since the unrest of the early 1990s. Protests and vigils are being staged all over the city. It’s in this dangerous tinderbox that two families must finally confront their pasts.

Grace Park lives a sheltered existence: living at home with her Korean-immigrant parents, working at the family pharmacy, and trying her best to understand why her sister Miriam hasn’t spoken to their mother in years. The chasm in her family is growing wider by the day and Grace is desperate for reconciliation, and frustrated by the feeling that her sister and parents are shielding her from the true cause of the falling out.

Shawn Matthews is dealing with a fractured family of his own. His sister, Ava, was murdered as a teenager back in 1991, and this new shooting is bringing up painful memories. Plus, his cousin Ray is just released from prison and needs to reconnect with their family after so many years away. While Shawn is trying his best to keep his demons at bay, he’s not sure Ray can do the same.

When another shocking crime hits LA, the Parks and the Matthewses collide in ways they never could have expected. After decades of loss, violence, and injustice, tensions come to a head and force a reckoning that could clear the air or lead to more violence.

Title:Your House Will Pay
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780062868855
Format Type:

    Your House Will Pay Reviews

  • Steph

    I've been working on this book since the end of 2014, and while I get maybe one more shot at sifting for typos, I think I can finally say it's done. It's a bit of a departure from my P.I. series, a li...

  • megs_bookrack

    !!! UNDERRATED BOOK ALERT !!!Oh, shoot. Wow. Your House Will Pay packs a punch. I highly recommend the audiobook, which is how I read it; chef's kiss. Set in L.A., this novel examines racial tensions,...

  • karen

    NOW AVAILABLE!!!when i heard about this book, the first thing i thought (after "what a fantastic title that is!") was that it would be a readalike for All Involved, which was a sharp and gritty piece ...

  • Bkwmlee

    4.5 starsIt’s not often that a book I read impacted me so much that I was rendered virtually speechless immediately afterwards — to the point that despite having finished this book several days ag...

  • Thomas

    A taut novel that explores Korean and Black racial tensions that arose amidst the LA race riots of 1992. Steph Cha fictionalizes a real-life event: in 1991, Soon Ja Du, a Korean female convenience sto...

  • emma

    For every moment I spent reading this book, I don't think my forehead relaxed once. I was a constant >:o emoticon, in turn perplexed and dismayed and angry and sad and above all riveted.It's the kind ...

  • Michael David

    YOUR HOUSE WILL PAY is one of the best, and most important, books I have read this year. Los Angeles, 1991: Just after the brutal beating of Rodney King, and the police shooting and killing of an unar...

  • Ceecee

    This story is set in Los Angeles and is about two worlds colliding - one Korean-American family and one African-American. It is based on a true story of the shooting of Latasha Harlins in 1991 by a co...

  • Neale

    This book is shortlisted for the 2020 TOB.Yvonne Park, an elderly Korean woman is shot while closing her store just after seven o’clock in the evening. However, Yvonne Park is not the name she was b...

  • Carol

    ***3.5 Stars*** A potent story based on an actual event during the 1992 LA race riots when a black, teenage girl was shot and killed by a Korean shop owner. This fictional novel moves between that tim...