Accidental Trouble Magnet

Accidental Trouble Magnet

*Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded and re-illustrated.*

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?).

My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends.

What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target and has made it his mission to send me back to Pakistan. But I've never even been to Pakistan! And my cousin told me the pizza there is YUCK.

The only good thing is that Eid's just around the corner which means a feast of all my favourite food (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). I'm really hoping I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough to get loads...

The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid.

Title:Accidental Trouble Magnet
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781444951226
Format Type:

    Accidental Trouble Magnet Reviews

  • Jaimie Morris

    This is a book packed with action, Religious festivals, a dragon, a sulky next-door neighbour, a new school and a class bully. Nobody likes a bully, but maybe you’ll find out that this one is not yo...

  • Emma

    Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet by Zanib MianLikes: I really enjoyed reading Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet. It was a fun read packed with adventure, such as getting lost on the school ...

  • Zoe

    A really great read which I would recommend to be shared with a KS2 class. This book offers many opportunities for morals, religion, beliefs and friendship to be explored.This book could be used reall...

  • Isobel

    This novel is excellent. It is an easy read with sketchy pictures illustrated throughout the book to capture the positive and negative moments that Omar experiences. The novel starts with an illustrat...

  • Lauren Drake

    This book was an enjoyable read overall. When I began reading, the first thing I compared this book too was those of David Walliams' due to the use of different fonts on certain words to make them sta...

  • Sophie Snowden

    This books is lovely to read, easy to follow, and broken up by doodles and a variety of text fonts. The book is written from Omar's perspective and explores how he feels about starting a new school. I...

  • Kirsty

    I thoroughly enjoyed immersing in Omar’s world in this fast-paced chapter book from the minute I began reading to the end. Aimed for Lower Key Stage 2 - I think this book would be excellent for inde...

  • Rebecca Morris

    This book follows a young Muslim boy called Omar. Him and his family have just moved house as his mum has just gotten her dream job. As a result of this, he has to start a new school and this made him...

  • Louise Goddard

    I really enjoyed this book - I finished it in around 2 hours during a slow shift at work! liked the way it was written, as writing from a child’s point of view can sometimes feel awkward as authors ...

  • Jacob Summerill

    This book is based on a Muslim boy called Omar and his experiences of moving to a new unfamiliar place. His family move to a new house and he has to join a new school- this book looks at the struggles...