The Grace Year

The Grace Year

A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power. Optioned by Universal and Elizabeth Banks to be a major motion picture!

SURVIVE THE YEAR.

No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.

In Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive.

Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life—a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for a chance to grab one of the girls in order to make a fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other.

With sharp prose and gritty realism, The Grace Year examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls, the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they make in-between.

Title:The Grace Year
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781250145444
Format Type:

    The Grace Year Reviews

  • Chelsea Humphrey

    Happy Pub Day!!!"I have to remind myself -the dresses, the red ribbons, the veils, the ceremonies- they're all just distractions to keep our minds off the real issue at hand. The grace year. My chin b...

  • Emily May

    “Look around,” Kiersten says as she stares me dead in the eyes. “We are the only Gods here.” 4 1/2 stars. Wow. This book was hard to put down! And the ending made me really emotional.The Grac...

  • Nilufer Ozmekik

    Four somebody hold the door please, because I’m volunteer to get this bloody, scary, mind twisting and shouting, terrifying, not nail biter but whole arm biter, making you addict to the anxiety pill...

  • Lala BooksandLala

    This had a lot going for it, but the pace threw me off and it had one of my most hated tropes..so a middle of the road 3 star is where we land. It's smart; conventional enough of a plot that it's easy...

  • Chaima ? ?????

    3.5 starsThe Grace Year refused to dissipate and hung like a poisonous vapor long after I finished it, pervading every corner of my room like a simmering toxin. The feeling was a violent plunge encomp...

  • Felicia

    How do you review a book that you enjoyed reading immensely yet it has glaringly poor execution? The plot is sooo good. Welcome to a world where girls are banished to an isolated camp for their sixtee...

  • Lola

    Do not be fooled by the excessively pink cover, this is not a sweet story and the characters do not care to be likeable and cherished by the reader. It’s a wild, wild world and so are the girls in i...

  • Kaceey

    Happy Sweet Sixteen!Occasionally I like to really switch things up from my thrillers and read a frightening dystopian novel. Though it’s extremely rare (if ever) that I read something labeled YA. B...

  • Hannah Greendale

    The Grace Year opens like a mix of The Hunger Games and The Handmaid's Tale, then shifts to a retelling of Lord of the Flies. It's poised to be a feminist tale of sisterhood and equality, but the prot...

  • Karen

    What a page turner .. I enjoyed this dystopian novel set in a colony where every year, sixteen year old girls are sent away into the wilderness for their “grace year” its a time where they are for...