Obsidian Murder

Obsidian Murder

Bonfire Night 1924.

Violet, Victor, and friends intend to celebrate an evening with cocktails, bonfires, and fireworks. What they don't intend is to find a body instead of their Guy Fawkes. What's even more baffling? The obsidian blade. Once again, the friends delve into a wicked crime. Tensions rise as they realize that murder wasn't the only game afoot during the celebration.

Book SEVEN in The Violet Carlyle Mysteries. Are you ready for the roaring twenties? For a spunky young woman determined to craft her own life? If so, you’ll love Vi, her indulgent twin Vic, and their friends. You might even find your imagination caught by the detective Jack Wakefield. For fans of Carola Dunn, Jacqueline Winspear, Georgette Heyer, Leighann Dobbs, and Lee Strauss.

A light, cozy mystery with a fun peek into life in the life of a bright young thing. No swearing, graphic scenes, or cliffhangers.


The Violet Carlyle Mysteries
Book 1: Murder & the Heir
Book 2: Kennington House Murder
Book 3: Murder at the Folly
Book 4: A Merry Little Murder
Book 5: Murder Among the Roses
Book 6: Murder in the Shallows
Book 7: Gin & Murder
Book 8: Obsidian Murder
Book 9: Murder at the Ladies Club (coming soon)
Book 10: Wedding Bells & Murder (coming soon)

Title:Obsidian Murder
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Obsidian Murder Reviews

  • Crystal Blake

    Another fun readIt was really nice to see some other sides to our cast of characters. This is the first book where we have really seen them all as characters rather than caricatures. Especially loving...

  • Judy St. John

    Not as good as previous booksI believe this is Book 8 in the Lady Carlyle mysteries and the least enjoyable so far. It seemed very disjointed, involving too many people and subplots and was not partic...

  • Krystyna

    Weak plot (again) but the saga about their lives is greatA good read - terrific if you discount the mystery which was weak to say the least. The continuing saga about Vi, Vic and their friends though ...

  • katherine otis

    She's done it again!And by she, I mean Lady Violet Carlyle and her creator. This series always manages to bring me to laughter and tears. Jack has returned from an awful case that will change their li...

  • Amanda Jane

    Entrapment.. wouldn't get away with it now!!All the usual problems.. typos, American English, excessive description of the unimportant things like clothes.. poor editing, childlike writing style..Try ...

  • Pamela

    I’m disappointed. This mystery (and probably a few of her other books in this series) seems shorter and not thorough, compared to other mysteries of the same genre. There was not enough investigatin...

  • Elena

    Very good— many changes afootIn the last book Violet & Victor’s family — father, brothers etc were part of the story. Previously they were just in the background. They are a great addition. In t...

  • Argum

    I love this silly series and the twins are facing the first of several upcoming changes. Violet has the blues because her brother is honeymooning and Jack is working a case far away. She wonders what ...

  • Ann Morrill

    Lovely lighthearted story but....I have enjoyed this series, which is very light and frothy but more or less historically correct. However there are some Americanisms that really grate on the nervous ...

  • Lucia C. Smolski

    Archeology and murderThe belief that Denny's brother Wendell cannot be the murderer is one thing. Proving it, quite another. Digs, archeologists, treasure and fires keep Violet busy "meddling" to help...