The German Midwife

The German Midwife

Germany, 1944.

A prisoner in the camps, Anke Hoff is doing what she can to keep her pregnant campmates and their newborns alive.

But when Anke's work is noticed, she is chosen for a task more dangerous than she could ever have imagined. Eva Braun is pregnant with the Führer's child, and Anke is assigned as her midwife.

Before long, Anke is faced with an impossible choice. Does she serve the Reich she loathes and keep the baby alive? Or does she sacrifice an innocent child for the good of a broken world?

An unforgettable tale of courage, betrayal and survival in the hardest of circumstances, perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Alice Network.

Title:The German Midwife
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    The German Midwife Reviews

  • Kylie D

    I really did enjoy this book. It's definitely one to get you wondering! It's the story of Anke, a young German woman who has been a prisoner in a concentration camp during WW2 as a political prisoner....

  • Erin

    The German Midwife or it's alternative title A Woman at War tackles a "what if" in this historical fiction. A political prisoner in Ravensbruck concentration camp, Anke Hoff is recruited to become the...

  • Bev Walkling

    Many thanks to Avon Books UK & #NetGalley for allowing me to read an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.I was extremely pleased to receive a copy of this book to read and revie...

  • Jeanette Lewis

    In 1939 Anke Hoff is working as a midwife in the maternity section of a Berlin hospital when a Nazi directive is presented to all maternity staff that any babies born with a disability or with a defor...

  • Alayne Emmett

    This was a really good book. It was a quick read as the chapters were very short and I found I couldn’t put it down. It was so well written and very plausible, although at times I kept thinking, is ...

  • Erin

    Find this and other reviews at: https://historicalfictionreader.blogs...Most readers seem to have enjoyed the time they spent with Mandy Robotham’s The German Midwife (aka A Woman of War), but I hav...

  • Michelle

    A woman at war by Mandy Robotham is her debut novel and what a great one it is. Set in Germany in 1944 Anker Hoff is a Midwife in a concentration camp, dealing with helping the women prisoners giving ...

  • Linda

    I am gasping!!I'm not sure if I liked it or hated it. The writing is good and I stayed in the book intensely, that's not the problem. The atrocities of WWII continue to pile up in my head. I'm not sur...

  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede

    Don't read this review if you are worried about spoilers. It's hard to write about this book without addressing the main event in this book and I was spoiled myself before I started this book. Alth...

  • Debbie

    What if Hitler had a child?Midwife Anke, a German political prisoner, is forced to attend to pregnant Eva Braun, Hitler's mistress. An interesting premise for a book! Although it started off fast-pace...