The Mistress of Pennington's: Can a woman succeed in a man's world?

The Mistress of Pennington's: Can a woman succeed in a man's world?

1910 – A compelling tale of female empowerment in Bath's leading department store. Perfect for the fans of the TV series Mr Selfridge and The Paradise.

Elizabeth Pennington should be the rightful heir of Bath's premier department store through her enterprising schemes and dogged hard work. Her father, Edward Pennington believes his daughter lacks the business acumen to run his empire and is resolute a man will succeed him.

Determined to break from her father's iron-clad hold and prove she is worthy of inheriting the store, Elizabeth forms an unlikely alliance with ambitious and charismatic master glove-maker Joseph Carter. United they forge forward to bring Pennington's into a new decade, embracing woman's equality and progression whilst trying not to mix business and pleasure.

Can this dream team thwart Edward Pennington's plans for the store? Or will Edward prove himself an unshakeable force who will ultimately ruin both Elizabeth and Joseph?

What readers are saying:

'It was so interesting to read ... I hope Rachel Brimble writes another book about these characters. Highly recommend!' Sharon Brewer, NetGalley.

'The story was a pleasure to read as the writing was so very good and easy to get lost in ... It's a captivating read that touched my heart deeply and is currently one of my top 5 favorite books to have read so far this year' Clare Roden, NetGalley.

'This story [...] brought out the fact that hard work and determination pays and that you can succeed despite the odds' Mystica Varathapalan, NetGalley.

Title:The Mistress of Pennington's: Can a woman succeed in a man's world?
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    The Mistress of Pennington's: Can a woman succeed in a man's world? Reviews

  • Dash fan

    5☆ A Beautiful Portrayal The mistress at Penningtons is a beautifully compelling read about change, fighting for equality.I adore Rachel Brimbles books and this one is such a beautiful read.Elizabet...

  • Mystica

    Set in 1910 with the suffragette movement getting into full sway, women in general seemed to have had a tough time with men during this period. It seemed to be even more rigid than ever before and som...

  • Frankie (Chicks, Rogues and Scandals)

    As soon as I first heard about this book I have been eager to read it, it is an era that I am hugely interested in and I felt so honored when Rachel Brimble gave me the chance to review it for her. Th...

  • Suze Lavender

    It’s 1910 and Elizabeth Pennington would love to take over the reigns of her father’s department store. Pennington’s is the market leader in Bath and the fancy shop carries a large range of luxu...

  • Robyn

    Elizabeth Pennington is a hard working woman in her father’s department store during a time when women were fighting for equal rights as men. Elizabeth is looking towards expanding Penningtons and w...

  • Kathleen Gray

    Perfect for fans of historical fiction ! Brimble has written a lovely story of Elizabeth, a strong young woman, who wants to move her family business forward. It's 1910 Bath, however, and that's not a...

  • Laura

    Very well written with characters I really cared about, this historical novel will appeal to fans of Downton Abbey and Selfridges historical television series. Set in a time of emotional change and ha...

  • Janet

    Elizabeth Pennington should be the rightful heir of Bath's premier department store through her enterprising schemes and dogged hard work. Her father, Edward Pennington believes his daughter lacks the...

  • Clare

    Already being a lover of Rachel Brimble's stories, especially her historicals, I was so excited to get started on this the first book in her new series set in Edwardian England. The Mistress of Pennin...

  • N.N. Light

    All Elizabeth Pennington wants is to prove to her father she’s more than capable to run Bath’s #1 department store. But it’s 1910 and her father thinks all women lack business sense and belong i...