Call Me Evie

Call Me Evie

by

, 2019-releases, 2020, buddy-read, 2019, thriller, edelweiss, edelweiss-arc-s, digital, recent-faves, thriller, z-read-in-2019, edelweiss, family-saga, edelweiss, psychological-thriller, netgalley, favourites, friendship, 2019-read, 52-books, mystery, arc, edelweiss, Thriller, Mystery, Fiction, Suspense, Adult Fiction, Adult, Contemporary

In this propulsive, twist-filled, and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever.

For the past two weeks, seventeen-year-old Kate Bennet has lived against her will in an isolated cabin in a remote beach town--brought there by a mysterious man named Bill. Part captor, part benefactor, Bill calls her Evie and tells her he's hiding her to protect her. That she did something terrible one night back home in Melbourne--something so unspeakable that he had no choice but to take her away. The trouble is, Kate can't remember the night in question.

The fragments of Kate's shattered memories of her old life seem happy: good friends, a big house in the suburbs, a devoted boyfriend. Bill says he'll help her fill in the blanks--but his story isn't adding up. And as she tries to reconcile the girl she thought she'd been with the devastating consequences Bill claims she's responsible for, Kate will unearth secrets about herself and those closest to her that could change everything.

A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth, even from ourselves.

Title:Call Me Evie
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780525538158
Format Type:

    Call Me Evie Reviews

  • Deanna

    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr... “Doubting what you see is a very odd experience. And doubting what you remember is also a pretty odd experience, because so...

  • Sumit RK

    “Which is the true nightmare, the horrific dream that you have in your sleep or the dissatisfied reality that awaits you when you awake?” ― Justin Alcala Reading Call Me Evie is like watchin...

  • Julie

    Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare is a 2019 G.P. Putnam’s Sons publication. Inventive approach to the domestic/psychological thriller! This book is a real page turner! Kate is living in New Zealand with h...

  • Kaceey

    4.5*Oh my gosh! This book was fabulous! It will keep you on the hook, guessing all the way to the very last page!Kate is seventeen years old who currently finds herself on the run with Jim. He’s hid...

  • BernLuvsBooks

    4 twisted stars for J.P Pomare's suspenseful psychological thriller Call Me EvieEvie is having trouble remembering her recent past. She has figments of memories, moments she fleetingly recalls but eve...

  • Paromjit

    JP Pomare debut is a chillingly oppressive psychological thriller that is incredibly well constructed and so well written. In a remote and isolated cabin in the coastal town of Maketu in New Zealand, ...

  • Susanne  Strong

    4 StarsOne Crazy Thriller When “Evie” wakes up groggy, she realizes that she has been kidnapped and is being held captive in New Zealand by a man named Jim. She was once known as Kate and she live...

  • Michelle

    This was such a page turner!!! Kate Bennett is your average Australian teenager until she finds herself held captive in New Zealand with a man named, Jim, and Jim says that she is to go by the name Ev...

  • MarilynW

    I was intrigued by the story of Evie, who couldn't remember her past and was in the custody of "Uncle Jim", a person who told her that he was protecting her from those who wanted to get her for the ba...

  • j e w e l s

    FOUR STARSCALL ME EVIE will have you questioning everything and EVERYONE in this well-written TWISTY thriller!Set in Australia and New Zealand, the story of Evie is different than the usual thriller. ...