Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire

Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire

by

publisher-review, , hist-fic-reading-challenge, read-in-2018, netgalley, 2018, crime-fiction-and-thrillers, netgalley-reviewed, read-in-2019, earcs, mystery-historical, historical-mystery, 1-in-a-series, mysteries-historical, Mystery, Historical, Fiction, Audiobook, Literature

Brilliant new series from the author of The Mangle Street Murders, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie, Jasper Fforde and M.C. Beaton.

September 1939.

A new day dawns in Sackwater, not that this sleepy backwater is taking much notice...

Inspector Betty Church – one of the few female officers on the force – has arrived from London to fill a vacancy at Sackwater police station. But Betty isn't new here. This is the place she grew up. The place she thought she'd left behind for good.

Time ticks slowly in Sackwater, and crime is of a decidedly lighter shade. Having solved the case of the missing buttons, Betty's called to the train station to investigate a missing bench. But though there's no bench, there is a body. A smartly dressed man, murdered in broad daylight, with two distinctive puncture wounds in his throat.

While the locals gossip about the Suffolk Vampire, Betty Church readies herself to hunt a dangerous killer.

Title:Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire Reviews

  • Dash fan

    4☆ A Fun Crime MysteryBetty Church and the Suffolk Vampire is the first book in what I have a feeling is going to be a great series!I am a big fan of vampire books and reading Betty Church and the S...

  • Susan

    This joyful novel is set in 1939. Our heroine is Betty Church, who was forced to leave the Metropolitan Police when she becomes a part amputee; losing part of her arm. She turns for help to her Godmot...

  • Emma

    2.5 stars. I would have liked this book more if it weren’t for the humour which got on my nerves. Betty was a great character, but unfortunately she was surrounded by idiots!...

  • Cathy

    Well, I don’t know about any of her police colleagues, but it didn’t take melong to have complete confidence that Inspector Betty Church could solve the mystery – or anything else she put her m...

  • Elaine Tomasso

    I would like to thank Netgalley and Heads of Zeus for an advance copy of Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire, a police procedural set in 1939.Reluctant to leave the police after losing part of her ar...

  • Sid Nuncius

    I didn't get on well with this book, I'm afraid. It's the first Kasasian I have read and may well be the last.Set in 1939, Sgt. Betty Church has lost half her left arm and is promoted to inspector and...

  • Connie

    I loved Sidney Grice and March Middleton in the Gower Street detective series, so couldn't wait to read MRC Kasasian 's new book Betty Church And The Suffolk Vampire. It's filled with the same humour ...

  • booksofallkinds

    This was my first time reading anything by M.R.C. Kasasian so I wasn't sure what to expect from this mystery but it charmed me from the very first page and as all excellent novels should, left me want...

  • Michelle

    Having read some of the Gower Street detective series also by M. R. C. Kasasian. I was intrigued to find out about this new series.Set in 1939, Betty Church returns to her hometown of Sackwater to bec...

  • Jane

    It’s brilliant. I enjoyed Betty Church and The Suffolk Vampire so much I only wish I could write a review to do it justice. MRC Kasasian is a very clever writer with a distinctive and individual voi...