The China Sea

The China Sea

by

, e-book, reviewed, Fiction

The China Sea is the latest thriller from New York Times bestselling author Richard Herman. Perfect for fans of Tom Clancy, Vince Flynn and Andy McNab.
The Chinese Dragon has awoken - and is narrowing its sights on the South China Sea.

America - and it's president Morgan Taylor - cannot permit such territorial expansion to go unchecked. But America also cannot afford to go to war. To square the circle the President decides to employ the services of David Santos, a retired air force general and intelligence officer, and his "Bravo" team, a company of trained specialists.

As the unit is deployed into South East Asia they know that America will deny all knowledge of their existence. Capture will mean torture - and death. Santos and Bravo team must try to prevent a war, working in the shadows. But they will not be alone. China has deployed its own unit, to counter the Americans and foment conflict and conquest. The fate of Bravo team in the South China Sea could shape - or shatter - the peace between two global superpowers.

The clock is ticking. The race is on.

Praise for The China Sea

"The China Sea goes from zero to sixty and never slows down. Great story, great characters, and the real chance this is the blueprint of things to come. Must read." - William P. Wood, author of Broken Trust starring Tom Selleck

"Cleverly crafted and masterfully written, with characters rooted in the dark realism of special ops,The China Sea by Richard Herman delivers a riveting, edge-of-the-seat novel of global intrigue as real as this morning’s headlines. Herman, an experienced story-teller and former U.S. air warrior captures both the subtle nuisance and stark dangers of a world teetering on the edge of mass destruction." Steve Martini

“A skilled storyteller… Richard Herman knows how to describe the pressure and unpredictability of battle… He has a sure command of what it takes to hold the reader.” - Sacramento Bee

“Herman is a master.” - Florida Times-Union

“One of the best adventure writers around.” - Clive Cussler

“Too many of today’s geopolitical thrillers ring false, but not Herman’s.” - San Francisco Examiner

“Herman shines when he describes combat tactics… But it’s his characters that carry the story.” - Air & Space

Richard Herman is a retired Air Force officer who flew C-130s and F-4s. While on active duty, he logged over 240 combat missions. He also taught at the Air Force Academy and served as an operations plans officer. After retiring, he turned to writing about the aircraft he loves, and is the author of fourteen novels – including critically acclaimed The Warbirds and Force of Eagles.

Title:The China Sea
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    The China Sea Reviews

  • Todd Simpson

    Thoroughly Entertaining. This is the first time I’ve read a Richard Herman novel, and I was happily surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The plot is quite elaborate, and I quite liked that the story ...

  • Paul

    I'll preface this review of "The China Sea" by by saying I know Dick Herman: we flew together in the USAF and have been friends for more than 35 years.I enjoy Herman's novels, which are usually milita...

  • Dave

    Review originally published at Book of BoganI've hesitated about writing a review of this book, so I could see whether it had a lasting memory on me. I read so many thriller novels, and there needs to...

  • John Purvis

    "The China Sea" eBook was published in 2017 and was written by Richard Herman (http://www.richardhermanbooks.com). Mr. Herman has published more than a dozen novels. I received an ARC of this novel th...

  • Ronald

    "The China Sea" is about a team put together by General Santos, an old Vietnam war veteran. The task force has an unlimited budget and reports directly to the President. Their task is to stop the Chin...

  • Gerry Davy

    It was like going back to Homecoming after 20 years and meeting your best buddy after having lost touch over the years. I used to read all of Richard Herman’s books but, much like after graduation, ...

  • Jay Williams

    I received a free copy of this book in a promotion, and I thought it was much better than many I have paid big bucks for. The cast of characters were well-described, realistic, and extremely interesti...

  • Craig Pearson

    Thank you to NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review this book. It has been a while since reading my last Richard Herman novel. I remember his stories to be more tightly woven. China Sea had ...

  • Don McCale

    Great Read about independent special ops warfair Great adult story of current types of special ops style of war fair that we have to use to accomplish our mission of defeating the crazy people that ha...

  • Arthur

    The China Sea by Richard HermanThough fiction, the plot is based upon the geopolitical concepts that are being played out in the east China sea today. Herman is right on target, the action is swift an...