A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

by

, arc, read-in-2018, china, 2019-reads, ya, audiobook, young-adult, girl-squad, 2018-releases, author-of-color, arc, 2018, 2019, contemporary, r-fantasy, short-stories, tbh-amazing, 2021-read, retellings, 2018-releases, owned, 2019-read, kindle, february-2021, 2018, Fantasy, Short Stories, Young Adult, Anthologies, Fiction, Retellings, Science Fiction

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Title:A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780062671172
Format Type:

    A Thousand Beginnings and Endings Reviews

  • Emily May

    This is definitely one of the better YA short story collections I have read. As with all anthologies, some stories are much stronger than others, but I enjoyed far more than I disliked. Plus, it was j...

  • Melanie

    ARC provided by HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review.This is the anthology I’ve been waiting my entire life for. As a Filipina woman, I have no words to express how happy my heart is to ju...

  • jessica

    i have always actively avoided anthologies because short stories have never been my thing - im definitely the kind of reader who needs more than 30 pages to form a connection. buuuut, im interested in...

  • Amalia Gkavea

    This is a collection I couldn’t wait to start. When I was about eight years old, my grandma bought me a volume of Asian Folk Tales and thus, she opened a window to a world that was exotic, mysteriou...

  • Chloe

    I really enjoyed most of the short stories & this was definitely my favourite anthology I've ever read. My absolute favourite was 'The Land of the Morning Calm' by E.C. Myers (based on Korean mytholog...

  • destiny ??? [howling libraries]

    We would have been overjoyed to have found this anthology, filled with characters with skin and hair and names more like ours, in our beloved libraries. It’s the book that was missing in our live...

  • Cindy

    While I appreciate the book's endeavor to promote more diversity and Asian stories in literature (especially with the cultural diversity of different Asian ethnicities featured), the anthology falls u...

  • Brittany

    *4.5I actually loved almost every single story in here. The only reason I’m knocking it down a half point was because there were a couple that just weren’t my cup of tea 🤷🏼‍♀️ but if a...

  • Hannah Greendale

    DNF at 48%. A Thousand Beginnings and Endings is a collection of short stories that re-imagine South and East Asian myths, penned by fifteen authors tasked with representing their culture. While the m...

  • Natalie Monroe

    3.75 starsI requested A Thousand Beginnings and Endings for one reason and one reason only: Julie Kagawa. Her Talon series crashed and burned, she'll always have a special place in my heart due to The...